Are Cheerios Vegan

Are Cheerios Vegan (Quick Facts & Alternatives)

The classic Cheerios that come in the yellow box are one of the most popular breakfast cereals but, are Cheerios vegan?

Can Vegans Eat Cheerios

Many vegans will consider Cheerios a vegan cereal whereas others will not, Cheerios contains a couple of ingredients that are often avoided by strict vegans.

Why Wouldn’t Cheerios Be Vegan

The following ingredients found in Cheerios are questionable to some vegans.

  • White Sugar
  • Vitamin D3

Why Isn’t White Sugar Vegan

White sugar is often processed using bone char from animals.

Bone char is used to bleach or whiten the color of the sugar granules.

Experts say that none of the bone char ends up in the sugar but, since an animal product is used during processing many vegans will avoid this product altogether.

You can avoid sugar processed with bone char by only consuming raw cane sugar, organic sugar, or products that contain these sugars.

Why Isn’t Vitamin D3 Vegan

The added vitamin D3 that is used in breakfast cereals often comes from sheep’s wool.

Do Cheerios Contain Honey

The classic Cheerios in the yellow box do not contain honey.

You do need to be aware that other flavors like Honey Nut Cheerios do contain honey.

Do Cheerios Contain Eggs

Cheerios do not contain eggs or egg whites.

Do Cheerios Contain Dairy

Cheerios do not contain dairy products.

Do Cheerios Contain Gelatin

Classic Cheerios do not contain gelatin.

What Ingredients Are In Cheerios

Classic Cheerios contain the following ingredients.

Whole Grain Oats, Corn Starch, Sugar, Salt, Tripotassium Phosphate. Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) Added to Preserve Freshness. Vitamins and Minerals: Calcium Carbonate, Iron and Zinc (mineral nutrients), Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate), A B Vitamin (niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), Vitamin A (palmitate), Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate), A B Vitamin (folic acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3.

Vegan Alternatives To Cheerios

Is It Vegan Cheerios Series

Want More Cereal Information?

Recommended Guides

Best Vegan Cereals

How To Shop For Vegan Cereals

Non-Vegan Ingredients In Breakfast Cereals

Favorite Breakfast Supplies