Are Grape Nuts Vegan

Are Grape Nuts Vegan (Quick Facts)

Grape Nuts Cereal is a classic with its tiny little crunchy bites, but, is Grape Nuts Cereal Vegan?

The original Grape Nuts cereal is vegan-friendly but, the newest addition Grape Nut Flakes falls into a grey area since it contains two ingredients that are often avoided by vegans.

Can Vegans Eat Grape Nuts

Vegans can eat regular Grape Nuts Cereal but, Grape Nuts Flakes contain two ingredients that are considered questionable and are often avoided by vegans.

Why Wouldn’t Grape Nuts Be Vegan

Regular Grape Nuts cereal does not contain the following controversial ingredients but, Grape Nuts Flakes do.

  • White Sugar
  • Vitamin D3

Why Isn’t White Sugar Considered Vegan

White sugar is often processed using bone char from animals as a way to whiten or bleach the sugar.

Although none of the bone char remains in the finished product many vegans will avoid consuming regular white sugar altogether.

You can avoid sugar that has been processed with bone char by only consuming organic sugar or products that contain organic sugar.

Why Isn’t Vitamin D3 Vegan

Added Vitamin D3 in breakfast cereal is often not considered a vegan ingredient since it is most often supplied from sheep’s wool.

Is All Bran Vegan

Do Grape Nuts Contain Gelatin

Grape Nuts Cereal does not contain any gelatin.

Do Grape Nuts Contain Honey

Grape Nuts Cereal does not contain any honey.

Are Grape Nuts Vegan

Do Grape Nuts Contain Eggs

Grape Nuts Cereal does not contain any eggs or egg whites.

Do Grape Nuts Contain Dairy

Grape Nuts Cereal does not contain any dairy products.

Is Craklin Oat Bran Vegan

What Are The Ingredients In Grape Nuts

You will discover the following ingredients in Grape Nuts Cereal.

WHOLE GRAIN WHEAT FLOUR, MALTED BARLEY FLOUR, SALT, DRIED YEAST.

Vitamins and Minerals found in Grape Nuts cereal.

REDUCED IRON, NIACINAMIDE (VITAMIN B3), ZINC OXIDE (SOURCE OF ZINC), PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B6), THIAMIN MONONITRATE (VITAMIN B1), FOLIC ACID.

Are Grape Nut Flakes Vegan

Unfortunately, Grape Nuts Flakes are not considered vegan by many due to containing questionable white sugar and added vitamin D3.

You will find the following ingredients in Grape Nut Flakes.

WHOLE GRAIN WHEAT, WHEAT FLOUR, SUGAR, MALTED BARLEY FLOUR, CANOLA OIL, SALT.

The following added vitamins and minerals are found in Grape Nuts Cereal.

REDUCED IRON, ZINC OXIDE, NIACINAMIDE (VITAMIN B3), PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B6), RIBOFLAVIN (VITAMIN B2), VITAMIN A PALMITATE, THIAMIN MONONITRATE (VITAMIN B1), FOLIC ACID, VITAMIN B12, VITAMIN D3.

Final Thoughts

Grape Nuts is a vegan-friendly cereal that can be enjoyed as is or used as an ingredient in many different recipes.

Unfortunately, Grape Nut Flakes contain regular white sugar as well as added vitamin D3 which are considered controversial ingredients and are avoided by many vegans.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Is Shredded Wheat Vegan