Is Golden Grahams Cereal Vegan

Is Golden Grahams Vegan (Quick Facts & Vegan Options)

Golden Grahams have always been a favorite in our house but, are Golden Grahams vegan?

Golden Grahams cereal falls within the grey area of vegan cereals. For most vegans, the controversial ingredients will make this popular cereal off-limits whereas others may still consume ingredients like white sugar, natural flavors, and added vitamin D3.

Can Vegans Eat Golden Grahams

Golden Grahams cereal is technically not vegan due to its containing various ingredients that are usually avoided by vegans.

Why Wouldn’t Golden Grahams Be Vegan

Golden Grahams cereal contains the following controversial ingredients.

  • White Sugar
  • Natural Flavors
  • Vitamin D3

Why Isn’t White Sugar Vegan

Regular white sugar is often processed using bone char which is used to bleach the color of the sugar.

It’s said that there aren’t any remnants of the bone char left in the sugar but, the use of animal by-products during processing makes it off-limits to many vegans.

In order to ensure that the sugar you are eating wasn’t processed using bone char you should only consume organic sugar or products that contain organic sugar.

Why Aren’t Natural Flavors Vegan

Natural Flavor is a term used on food packages that can cover many different ingredients including those that are sourced by animals.

Why Isn’t Vitamin D3 Vegan

The vitamin D3 that is often added to breakfast cereals is usually sourced from sheep’s wool.

Does Golden Grahams Contain Honey

Golden Grahams cereal does not contain honey.

Does Golden Grahams Contain Eggs

Golden Grahams cereal does not contain eggs or egg whites.

Does Golden Grahams Contain Gelatin

Golden Grahams cereal does not contain gelatin.

Does Golden Grahams Contain Dairy

Golden Grahams cereal does not contain any dairy products.

Is Golden Grahams Vegan

What Are The Ingredients In Golden Grahams

Whole Grain Wheat, Corn Meal, Sugar, Brown Sugar Syrup, Canola Oil, Dextrose, Baking Soda, Salt, Natural Flavor

Added Vitamins & Minerals found in Golded Grahams Cereal.

Calcium Carbonate, Iron and Zinc (mineral nutrients), Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate), A B Vitamin (niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate), Vitamin A (palmitate), A B Vitamin (folic acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3.

Vegan Golden Grahams Alternatives

The following vegan cereals are a great alternative to classic Golden Grahams.

  • Cascadian Farms Graham Crunch
  • Three Wishes Gingerbread

Final Thoughts

It’s debatable to many whether Golden Grahams cereal is vegan or not.

For most vegans, Golden Grahams will be avoided due to their containing questionable ingredients like regular white sugar, natural flavors, and added vitamin D3.

Luckily, there are some great vegan alternatives that you can try.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Is Honeycomb Cereal Vegan

Want More Cereal Information?

Recommended Guides

Best Vegan Cereals

How To Shop For Vegan Cereals

Non-Vegan Ingredients In Breakfast Cereals

Favorite Breakfast Supplies