Is Shredded Wheat Vegan

Is Shredded Wheat Vegan (Quick Facts)

Shredded Wheat is a classic cereal that has been around for years but, is shredded wheat vegan?

Some boxes of Shredded Wheat cereal are vegan friendly whereas others are not due to containing ingredients sourced from animals or processed with animal by-products.

Can Vegans Eat Shredded Wheat

The original Post Shredded Wheat cereal is safe for vegans to enjoy but, the popular Frosted Mini-Wheats made by Kellogg’s are not.

Why Wouldn’t Shredded Wheat Be Vegan

The following ingredients found in Kellogg’s Frosted Mini-Wheats are not considered vegan-friendly by many.

  • Gelatin
  • Regular White Sugar
  • Added Vitamins

Why Isn’t Gelatin Vegan

Gelatin is an ingredient that is made by boing down animal by-products making it not a vegan ingredient.

Why Isn’t White Sugar Vegan

Regular white sugar is often processed using bone char to bleach the color of the sugar.

Many vegans will avoid sugar processed in this manner due to the use of animal products although, bone char does not remain in the product.

To avoid sugar processed with bone char you can choose organic sugar or products made with organic sugar.

Why Aren’t Added Vitamins Vegan

Added vitamins especially Vitamin D3 are often not considered vegan since it’s sourced from sheep’s wool.

Does Shredded Wheat Contain Eggs

Shredded Wheat does not contain eggs.

Does Shredded Wheat Contain Dairy

Shredded Wheat does not contain dairy.

Does Shredded Wheat Contain Honey

Shredded Wheat does not contain honey.

Does Shredded Wheat Contain Gelatin

Kellogg’s Frosted Mini-Wheats contains gelatin in the frosting making them not vegan.

What Ingredients Are In Shredded Wheat

Classic Post Shredded Wheat only contains wheat and BHT for freshness.

The popular Frosted Mini-Wheats from Kellogg’s is a different story containing the following ingredients.

whole grain wheat, sugar, contains 2% or less of brown rice syrup, gelatin, BHT for freshness plus vitamins and minerals

Is Cookie Crisp Vegan

Is Shredded Wheat Vegan

Are Post Shredded Wheat Original Big Biscuits Vegan

Classic Post Shredded Wheat Orignal Big Biscuits are vegan-friendly.

Is Post Shredded Wheat Original Spoon Size Cereal Vegan

Post Shredded Wheat Original Spoon Size Cereal is vegan-friendly.

Is Post Shredded Wheat N Bran Cereal Vegan

Post Shredded Wheat N Bran Cereal is vegan-friendly.

Are Kelloggs Frosted Mini-Wheats Vegan

Kellogg’s Frosted Mini-Wheats are not vegan since they contain gelatin.

In addition, to gelatin, Kellogs Frosted Mini-Wheats contain white sugar and vitamins that may not be considered vegan by some people.

Are Kelloggs Chocolate Frosted Mini-Wheats Vegan

Kellogg’s Chocolate Frosted Mini-Wheats are not vegan since they contain gelatin.

You will also find regular white sugar and added vitamins that may not be considered vegan to many.

Are Kelloggs Cinnamon Roll Flavored Frosted Mini-Wheats Vegan

Kellogg’s Cinnamon Roll Flavored Frosted Mini-Wheats are not vegan since they contain gelatin.

This flavored cereal also contains regular white sugar and added vitamins which are considered questionable ingredients.

Are Kelloggs Blueberry Flavored Frosted Mini-Wheats Vegan

Kellogg’s Blueberry Flavored Frosted Mini-Wheats are not vegan due to their containing gelatin.

The blueberry-flavored frosted mini-wheats also contain regular white sugar and added vitamins that are sometimes not considered vegan.

Are Kelloggs Pumpkin Spice Mini-Wheats Vegan

Kellogg’s Pumpkin Spice Mini-Wheats are not vegan due to containing gelatin.

The pumpkin spice-flavored mini-wheats contain regular sugar and added vitamins that are not always considered vegan.

Vegan Alternatives To Frosted Mini-Wheats

Although, these vegan-friendly options do not have frosting they are full of flavor and worth trying if you like the sweetness found in Frosted Mini-Wheats.

  • Kashi Berry Filled Mini-Wheats
  • Barbaras Oat Crunch

Final Thoughts

It’s disappointing to discover that one of your favorite cereals contains animal products and is not vegan-friendly.

Classic Post Shredded Wheat is vegan but, the very popular Frosted Mini-Wheat version made by Kellogg’s contains gelatin making it not vegan.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Are Cocoa Puffs Vegan