Is Trix Vegan

Is Trix Cereal Vegan (Quick Facts & Alternatives)

Trix Cereal has been serving up it’s fruity flavored cereal since 1959 but, is Trix vegan?

Can Vegans Eat Trix Cereal

Some vegans may consider Trix vegan but, many will avoid Trix due to containing many ingredients that are concerning.

Why Wouldn’t Trix Be Vegan

Trix Cereal contains a variety of ingredients that are questionable and may be avoided by many vegans.

  • White Sugar
  • Natural & Artificial Flavors
  • Food Colorings
  • Vitamin D3

Why Isn’t White Sugar Vegan

Regular white sugar is often processed using bone char from animals.

Bone char is used to bleach or white the sugar granules.

You will not discover any bone char left in the finished product but, many vegans will not eat white sugar that has been processed with bone char.

You can avoid bone char by only eating raw cane sugar, organic sugar, or products that contain these ingredients.

Why Aren’t Natural And Artificial Flavors Vegan

The term natural flavors is used to describe many different ingredients including those that may come from animal sources.

You have no way of knowing where the natural flavors come from.

Artificial flavors on the other hand are often tested on animals which is a concern for most vegans.

Why Aren’t Food Colorings Vegan

Food colorings are often tested on animals making them avoided by most vegans.

Why Isnit Vitamin D3 Vegan

Vitamin D3 is often sourced from sheep’s wool making it a concern for vegans.

Does Trix Contain Honey

Trix cereal does not contain honey.

Does Trix Contain Dairy

Trix Cereal does not contain dairy.

Does Trix Contain Eggs

Trix does not contain eggs or egg whites.

Does Trix Contain Gelatin

Trix Cereal does not contain gelatin.

Is Trix Vegan

What Are The Ingredients In Trix Cereal

You will find the following ingredients in a box of Trix cereal.

Whole Grain Corn, Sugar, Rice Flour, Corn Syrup, Canola and/or Sunflower Oil, Salt, Trisodium Phosphate, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Red 40, Yellow 6, Blue 1 and Other Color Added, Citric Acid, Malic Acid, Vitamins and Minerals: Calcium Carbonate, Tricalcium Phosphate, Vitamin C (Sodium Ascorbate), Iron and Zinc (Mineral Nutrients), a B Vitamin (Niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine Hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (Thiamin Mononitrate), Vitamin A (Palmitate), a B Vitamin (Folic Acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3.

Vegan Alternatives To Trix Cereal

  • Natures Path Mixed Berry Granola
  • Envirokids Cheetah Chomps

Final Thoughts

Trix Cereal contains many ingredients that fall into a gray area that becomes debatable if this fruity cereal is really vegan or not.

It will ultimately depend on the individual and how strict your personal vegan lifestyle is.

If Trix is off-limits there are some wonderful fruity-flavored cereals that are vegan like the options listed above from Nature’s Path.

Related Articles:

Want More Cereal Information?

Recommended Guides

Best Vegan Cereals

How To Shop For Vegan Cereals

Non-Vegan Ingredients In Breakfast Cereals

Favorite Breakfast Supplies