Are Reese's Puffs Vegan

Is Reese’s Puffs Cereal Vegan (Quick Fact & Alternatives)

Who doesn’t love the combination of peanut butter and chocolate found in Reese’s Puffs Cereal but, is Reese’s Puffs Cereal vegan?

Can Vegans Eat Reese’s Puffs Cereal

Many vegans will be okay with eating Reese’s Puffs Cereal whereas others that follow a more strict vegan diet will not due to questionable ingredients.

Why Wouldn’t Reese’s Puffs Be Vegan

Reese’s Puffs Cereal contains a variety of ingredients that are considered questionable to many vegans.

  • White Sugar
  • Natural Flavors
  • Vitamin D3

Why Isn’t White Sugar Vegan

Regular white sugar is often processed using bone char from animals.

Bone char is used to help whiten or bleach the color of the sugar granules.

Although none of the bone char ends up in the finished sugar many vegans will avoid regular white sugar altogether.

You can avoid sugar processed with bone char by only consuming raw can sugar, organic sugar, and products that contain these ingredients.

Why Aren’t Natural Flavors Vegan

Natural Flavor is a term used to describe many different ingredients including those that come from plants or animals.

Since it isn’t indicated where the natural flavors have come from many vegans will stay away from natural flavors since they may be animal-sourced.

Why Isn’t Vitamin D3 Vegan

The vitamin D3 that is added to breakfast cereal is often sourced from sheep’s wool making it a non-vegan ingredient to many.

Do Reese’s Puffs Contain Honey

Reese’s Puffs Cereal does not contain honey.

Do Reese’s Puffs Contain Eggs

Reese’s Puffs Cereal doesn’t contain eggs or egg whites.

Do Reese’s Puffs Contain Dairy

Reese’s Puffs Cereal does not contain any dairy products.

Do Reese’s Puffs Contain Gelatin

Reese’s Puffs Cereal does not contain gelatin.

Are Reese's Puffs Vegan

What Ingredients Are In Reese’s Puffs

You will find the following ingredients in a box of Reese’s Puffs Cereal.

Whole Grain Corn, Sugar, Reese’s Peanut Butter (peanuts, sugar, monoglycerides, peanut oil, salt, molasses, corn starch), Dextrose, Corn Meal, Corn Syrup, Canola Oil, Salt, Hershey’s Cocoa, Caramel Color, Trisodium Phosphate, Natural Flavor. Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) Added to Preserve Freshness.

Tricalcium Phosphate, Calcium Carbonate, Zinc and Iron (mineral nutrients), Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate), A B Vitamin (niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate), Vitamin A (palmitate), A B Vitamin (folic acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3.

Vegan Alternatives To Reese’s Puffs

  • Envirokids Leaping Lemurs Peanutbutter & Chocolate
  • Barbara’s Peanutbutter Puffins
  • Envirokids Peanutbutter Panda Puffs

Final Thoughts

Reese’s Puffs Cereal is one of those cereals that falls into a gray area where it is vegan to many people but, not to those who follow a more strict vegan lifestyle due to containing various questionable ingredients.

Related Articles:

Want More Cereal Information?

Recommended Guides

Best Vegan Cereals

How To Shop For Vegan Cereals

Non-Vegan Ingredients In Breakfast Cereals

Favorite Breakfast Supplies