Kix Cereal has been around since the 1930s with its delicious bite-sized corn puffs but, is Kix Cereal vegan?
Table of Contents
Can Vegans Eat Kix Cereal
Many vegans will be ok with eating regular or Berry Berry Kix but, those that follow a very strict vegan lifestyle will not.
Most vegans are less likely to consume honey-flavored Kix cereal since it does contain honey.
Why Wouldn’t Kix Cereal Be Vegan
Kix currently offers three cereal flavors that all contain questionable ingredients that may be avoided by some vegans.
- White Sugar
- Vitamin D3
- Natural Flavors
Why Isn’t White Sugar Vegan
Regular white sugar is often processed with bone char.
Bone char is used to whiten or bleach the color of the sugar granules.
You won’t find any of the bone char in the finished product but, since an animal by-product is used during processing many vegans will avoid white sugar.
You can ensure that you are not consuming white sugar processed with bone char if you only consume raw cane sugar, organic sugar, or products that contain these ingredients.
Why Isn’t Vitamin D3 Vegan
The added vitamin D3 found in breakfast cereals is often sourced from sheep’s wool.
Why Aren’t Natural Flavors Vegan
Natural Flavors is an umbrella term that is used to describe a variety of ingredients including those that are sourced from animals.
There is no way of knowing where the natural flavors have come from.
Why Isn’t Honey Vegan
Honey is a product made by honey bees that is meant as food for themselves.
Vegans do not agree with taking honey from bees for human consumption.
Does Kix Cereal Contain Honey
The Honey flavored Kix cereal does contain honey making it not vegan-friendly.
Does Kix Contain Dairy
Kix cereal does not contain any dairy products.
Does Kix Contain Eggs
Kix cereal does not contain any eggs or egg whites.
Does Kix Contain Gelatin
Kix cereal does not contain any gelatin.
What Ingredients Are In Kix Cereal
You will find the following ingredients in a box of Kix Cereal.
Whole Grain Corn, Corn Meal, Sugar, Salt, Brown Sugar Syrup, Baking Soda.Vitamin E (Mixed Tocopherols) Added To Preserve Freshness.Vitamins and Minerals: Calcium Carbonate, Iron and Zinc (Mineral Nutrients), Vitamin C (Sodium Ascorbate), A B Vitamin (Niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine Hydrochoride), Vitamin B1 (Thiamin Mononitrate), Vitamin A (Palmitate), Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin), A B Vitamin (Folic Acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3.
Is Honey Kix Cereal Vegan
Honey Kix cereal is not vegan since it does contain honey in addition to other questionable ingredients like white sugar, natural flavor, and vitamin D3.
WHOLE GRAIN CORN, CORN MEAL, SUGAR, HONEY, SALT, BROWN SUGAR SYRUP, CARAMEL COLOR, BAKING SODA, NATURAL FLAVOR. VITAMIN E (MIXED TOCOPHEROLS) ADDED TO PRESERVE FRESHNESS.VITAMINS AND MINERALS: CALCIUM CARBONATE, IRON AND ZINC (MINERAL NUTRIENTS), VITAMIN C (SODIUM ASCORBATE), A B VITAMIN (NIACINAMIDE), VITAMIN B6 (PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE), VITAMIN B1 (THIAMIN MONONITRATE), VITAMIN B2 (RIBOFLAVIN), VITAMIN A (PALMITATE), A B VITAMIN (FOLIC ACID), VITAMIN B12, VITAMIN D3.
Is Berry Berry Kix Vegan
Berry Berry Kix may be considered vegan to some but, not to others since it contains a few ingredients that are often questionable.
Whole Grain Corn, Corn Meal, Sugar, Canola and/or Sunflower Oil, Brown Sugar Syrup, Salt, Vegetable and Fruit Juice Color, Tricalcium Phosphate, Baking Soda, Citric Acid, Natural Flavor. Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) Added to Preserve Freshness. Vitamins and Minerals: Calcium Carbonate, Iron and Zinc (mineral nutrients), Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate), A B Vitamin (niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate), Vitamin A (palmitate), Vitamin B2 (riboflavin), A B Vitamin (folic acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3
Vegan Alternatives To Kix Cereal
- Natures Path Envirokids Panda Puffs
- Natures Path Envirokids Gorilla Crunch
- Natures Path Leaping Lemurs
Classic Kix and Berry Berry Kix cereals fall into that gray area where some people may be ok with consuming them whereas others that are more strict will not.
The honey-flavored Kix is not vegan since they do contain honey.
Luckily, there are many other delicious vegan options to try that are similar.
Want More Cereal Information?
- Are Any General Mills Cereals Vegan
- Are Any Post Cereals Vegan
- Are Any Kelloggs Cereals Vegan
- Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel