Are Cocoa Puffs Vegan

Are Cocoa Puffs Vegan (Quick Facts)

Cocoa Puffs are a classic cereal that is full of chocolatey flavor but, are cocoa puffs vegan?

Cocoa Puffs may be considered vegan to some but, many will choose to avoid this popolar breakfast cereal due to contain various ingredients that are often conrtoverisal and questionable to vegans.

Can Vegans Eat Cocoa Puffs

Cocoa Puffs may be suitable for some vegans to consume but, would be off limits to many due to containing some questionable ingredients that many vegans avoid.

Why Wouldn’t Cocoa Puffs Be Vegan

Cocoa Puffs contain the following ingredients that are controversial and off-limits to many vegans.

  • White Sugar
  • Natural Flavors
  • Vitamin D3

Why Is White Sugar Not Vegan

White sugar is often processed using bone char from animals.

Although, they say there isn’t any bone char left in the sugar the fact that an animal by-product is used to make white sugar many vegans will choose to not consume white sugar.

You can avoid sugar that is processed with bone char by only selecting organic sugar and products that contain organic sugar.

Why Are Natural Flavors Not Vegan

Natural flavors sound innocent enough and “natural”.

The facts are the term “natural flavors” is an umbrella term that includes many different ingredients.

Some of these ingredients are sourced from animals.

Why Isn’t Vitamin D3 Vegan

Vitamin D3 is a sneaky ingredient that is hiding in many breakfast cereals.

Vitamin D3 is sourced from the wool of sheep making it not vegan.

Are Oreo O’s Vegan

Do Cocoa Puffs Contain Honey

Cocoa Puffs do not contain honey.

Do Cocoa Puffs Contain Eggs

Cocoa Puffs do not contain eggs or egg whites.

Do Cocoa Puffs Contain Dairy

Cocoa Puffs do not contain any dairy products.

Are Cocoa Puffs Vegan

What Are The Ingredients In Cocoa Puffs

You will find the following ingredients in Cocoa Puffs.

Whole Grain Corn, Sugar, Corn Meal, Corn Syrup, Cocoa Processed with Alkali, Canola Oil, Fructose, Salt, Caramel Color, Refiner’s Syrup, Baking Soda, Natural Flavor.

Added Vitamins In Cocoa Puffs

Tricalcium Phosphate, Calcium Carbonate, Zinc and Iron (mineral nutrients), Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate), A B Vitamin (niacinamide), Vitamin B 6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate), Vitamin A (palmitate), A B Vitamin (folic acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3.

Vegan Options Similar To Cocoa Puffs

These are may favorite vegan-friendly breakfast cereal options that are similiar to Cocoa Puffs.

  • Wipala Quinoa Cereal
  • Natures Path Chocolate Chimps

Final Thoughts

Cocoa Puffs are not considered vegan to many although you may discover that some vegans will still consume them.

Cocoa Puffs contain a few controversial ingredients that are not always considered vegan.

Luckily, there are a few great alternatives to classic Cocoa Puffs that you can try instead.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Is Cookie Crisp Vegan

Want More Cereal Information?

Recommended Guides

Best Vegan Cereals

How To Shop For Vegan Cereals

Non-Vegan Ingredients In Breakfast Cereals

Favorite Breakfast Supplies