Is Raisin Nut Bran vegan

Is Raisin Nut Bran Vegan (Quick Facts & Alternatives)

Raisin Nut Bran is a delicious cereal that is full of crispy flakes, raisins, and almonds but, is Raisin Nut Bran vegan?

Can Vegans Eat Raisin Nut Bran

Many vegans are ok with eating Raisin Nut Bran whereas others that are more strict will not be due to some controversial ingredients.

Why Wouldn’t Raisin Nut Bran Be Vegan

Raisin Nut Bran contains a couple of ingredients that may be considered questionable to some vegans.

  • White Sugar
  • Natural Flavors

Why Isn’t White Sugar Vegan

White sugar is often processed using bone char from animals.

Bone char is used to bleach or whiten the color of the sugar granules.

Experts say none of the bone char ends up in the finished product but, the fact that animal products are used during processing makes white sugar a concerning ingredient for many vegans.

You can avoid white sugar that has been processed with bone char by only using raw cane sugar, organic sugar, or products that contain these two sugars.

Why Aren’t Natural Flavors Vegan

Natural Flavor is a term used to describe many different ingredients that can be in our food including breakfast cereal.

The problem is natural flavors can come from both plants and animals.

Unfortunately, there is no way of knowing if the natural flavors in Raisin Nut Bran are animal or plant sourced.

This unanswered question is enough to make many vegans avoid eating products that contain natural flavors.

Does Raisin Nut Bran Contain Honey

Raisin Nut Bran does not contain honey.

Does Raisin Nut Bran Contain Eggs

Raisin Nut Bran does not contain eggs or egg whites.

Does Raisin Nut Bran Contain Dairy

Raisin Nut Bran does not contain dairy products.

Does Raisin Nut Bran Contain Gelatin

Raisin Nut Bran does not contain any gelatin.

Is Raisin Nut Bran Vegan

What Ingredients Are In Raisin Nut Bran

You will find the following ingredients in a box of Raisin Nut Bran.

Whole Grain Wheat, Sugar, Raisins, Almonds, Corn Bran, Corn Syrup, Brown Sugar Syrup, Salt, Palm Kernel Oil, Glycerin, Canola Oil, Corn Starch, Molasses, Soy Lecithin, Vanilla Extract, Natural Flavor. Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) Added to Preserve Freshness.

Zinc and Iron (mineral nutrients), Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate), A B Vitamin (niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate), A B Vitamin (folic acid), Vitamin B12.

Vegan Alternatives To Raisin Nut Bran

  • Natures Path Sunrise Crunchy Vanilla
  • Natures Path Sunrise Crunchy Cinnamon
  • Natures Path Flax Plus Raisin Bran

Final Thoughts

Raisin Nut Bran is one of those cereals that are vegan enough for some but, not for others.

Even if you choose not to eat Raisin Nut Bran there are some delicious vegan alternatives from brands Like Natures Path that contain less controversial ingredients.

Related Articles:

Want More Cereal Information?

Recommended Guides

Best Vegan Cereals

How To Shop For Vegan Cereals

Non-Vegan Ingredients In Breakfast Cereals

Favorite Breakfast Supplies