Is Basic 4 Vegan

Is Basic 4 Cereal Vegan (Quick Facts & Alternatives)

Basic 4 is a breakfast cereal that is loaded with great flavors including sweet and tangy fruit but, is Basic 4 cereal vegan?

Can Vegans Eat Basic 4

Unfortunately, vegans can not eat Basic 4 cereal since it contains numerous ingredients that are not vegan.

Luckily, there are many great vegan alternative to try listed dow below.

Why Wouldn’t Basic 4 Be Vegan

Basic 4 Cereal contains a variety of ingredients that are not vegan-friendly,

  • Honey
  • White Sugar
  • Natural Flavors
  • Vitamin D3

Why Isn’t Honey Vegan

Honey is a product that is made by honey bees solely for their own consumption.

Vegans do not agree with taking honey from bees for human consumption.

Why Isn’t White Sugar Vegan

White sugar is a controversial ingredient since it is often processed using bone char from animals.

The bone char is used to whiten or bleach the sugar.

None of the bone char ends up in the finished product but, since animal products are used during processing many vegans will choose to avoid white sugar.

You can guarantee that you are not eating sugar processed with bone char by only consuming raw cane sugar, organic sugar, and products that contain those ingredients.

Why Aren’t Natural Flavors Vegan

Natural flavor is an umbrella term that is used to describe numerous ingredients.

Some of these ingredients are plant-based and some may be from animals.

We have no way of knowing where the natural flavors have come from.

This is enough to make many vegans avoid natural flavors altogether.

Why Isn’t Vitamin D3 Vegan

Most are unaware that the vitamin D3 that is added to breakfast cereals is often sourced from sheep’s wool.

This makes vitamin D3 a questionable ingredient that is often avoided by vegans.

Does Basic 4 Contain Honey

Unfortunately, for vegans, Basic 4 does contain honey.

Does Basic 4 Contain Eggs

Basic 4 does not contain eggs or egg whites.

Does Basic 4 Contain Dairy

Basic 4 Cereal does not contain dairy products.

Does Basic 4 Contain Gelatin

Basic 4 Cereal does not contain any gelatin.

Is Basic 4 Vegan

What Ingredients Are In Basic 4 Cereal

Basic 4 Cereal contains the following ingredients.

Whole Grain Wheat, Corn Meal, Sugar, Raisin, Rice Flour, Almond Pieces, Brown Sugar Syrup, Glycerin, Salt, Whole Grain Oats, Dried Cranberries, Corn Syrup, Palm Kernel Oil, Brown Sugar, Barley Malt Extract, Dextrose, Honey, Color (caramel color and annatto extract), Cinnamon, Soy Lecithin, Baking Soda, Natural Flavor. Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) Added to Preserve Freshness. 

Calcium Carbonate, Zinc and Iron (mineral nutrients), Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate), A B Vitamin (niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate), Vitamin A (palmitate), A B Vitamin (folic acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3.

Vegan Alternatives To Basic 4 Cereal

  • Natures Path Pumpkin Raisin Crunch
  • Natures Path Sunrise Crunchy Vanilla
  • Cascadian Farms Fruit & Nut

Final Thoughts

Basic 4 Cereal is not vegan due to containing a variety of questionable ingredients including honey and white sugar.

Luckily, there are many delicious options that are similar for you to try.

Related Articles:

Want More Cereal Information?

Recommended Guides

Best Vegan Cereals

How To Shop For Vegan Cereals

Non-Vegan Ingredients In Breakfast Cereals

Favorite Breakfast Supplies