Is Waffle Crisp Vegan

Is Waffle Crisp Cereal Vegan (Quick Facts & Alternatives)

Waffle Crisp is a delicious cereal meant to taste just like waffles but, is waffle crisp vegan?

Waffle Crisp may be considered vegan to many but, there are a couple of ingredients that fall into a gray area that can be debated by some strict vegans.

Can Vegans eat Waffle Crisp Cereal

Many vegans would eat Waffle Crisp Cereal but, there are some ingredients that are considered questionable making some strict vegans avoid Waffle Crisp.

Why Wouldn’t Waffle Crisp Be Vegan

Waffle Crisp Cereal contains a couple of ingredients that may be considered questionable to some vegans.

  • White Sugar
  • Natural & Artificial Flavors

Why Wouldn’t White Sugar Be Vegan

White sugar is often a controversial ingredient for vegans since it can be processed using bone char.

Bone char is used to bleach or white the color of the sugar granules.

Even though, you will not find any of the bone char in the finished product many vegans will avoid white sugar since an animal product is used during the processing.

You can avoid white sugar processed with bone char by only consuming raw cane sugar, organic sugar, or products that contain these sugars.

Why Are Natural & Artificial Flavors Vegan

Natural flavors is an umbrella term that is used to describe many different ingredients that go in foods.

These ingredients can come from plants or animals.

Unfortunately, there is no way to know for sure what is in your food when you discover “natural flavors” on the ingredient list.

Artificial flavors on the other hand are sometimes tested out on animals making them not vegan-friendly.

Does Waffle Crisp Contain Honey

Waffle Crisp does not contain honey.

Does Waffle Crisp Contain Dairy

Waffle Crisp cereal does not contain dairy products.

Does Waffle Crisp Contain Eggs

Waffle Crisp Cereal does not contain eggs or egg whites.

Does Waffle Crisp Contain Gelatin

Waffle Crisp Cereal does not contain gelatin.

Is Waffle Crisp Vegan

What Are The Ingredients In Waffle Crisp

You will find the following ingredients in a box of Waffle Crisp Cereal.

Sugar, Wheat Flour, Corn Flour, Whole Grain Oat Flour, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Salt, Caramel Color, Soy Lecithin, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Turmeric (Color), BHT Added to Packaging Material to Preserve Product Freshness. Vitamins and Minerals: Niacinamide (B Vitamin), Reduced Iron, Zinc Oxide (Source of Zinc), Vitamin B6, Vitamin A Palmitate, Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Thiamin Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Folic Acid (B Vitamin), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D.

Vegan Alternatives To Waffle Crisp

  • Kashi Maple Crisp (does contain natural flavors)
  • Catalina Crunch (does contain natural flavors)
  • Natures Path Maple Pecan Crunch

Final Thoughts

Waffle Crisp is one of those cereals that can easily be debated if it is vegan or not.

Some vegans will be ok with eating this cereal whereas others will not.

Luckily, there are other cereals that we can consider that provide that delicious maple flavor.

Related Articles:

Want More Cereal Information?

Recommended Guides

Best Vegan Cereals

How To Shop For Vegan Cereals

Non-Vegan Ingredients In Breakfast Cereals

Favorite Breakfast Supplies