Is Raisin Bran Vegan

Is Raisin Bran Vegan (Quick Facts & Vegan Options)

Raisin Bran is a favorite cereal of many but, is classic Kellogg’s or Post Raisin Bran vegan?

Kellogg’s and Post Raisin Bran are often avoided by vegans due to their containing some controversial ingredients that many consider to be not vegan. Luckily, there are some great vegan alternatives to try.

Can Vegans Eat Raisin Bran

Raisin Bran is often not considered vegan-friendly due to its containing controversial ingredients.

Why Wouldn’t Raisin Bran Be Vegan

Raisin Bran contains the following ingredients that are often not considered vegan.

  • Honey (some flavors)
  • White Sugar
  • Added Vitamins
  • Natural Flavors (some flavors)

Why Isn’t White Sugar Vegan

White Sugar is often processed using bone char in order to whiten the natural sugars.

Although it is said that none of the bone char makes it into the finished product, many vegans choose to avoid this ingredient completely due to the use of animal by-products.

In order to avoid sugar processed with bone char you can purchase organic sugar or products that contain organic sugar.

Why Are Added Vitamins Not Vegan-Friendly

Added vitamin D3 is often sourced from sheep wool making is a questionable and often non-vegan ingredient.

Why Are Natural Flavors Not Vegan

Natural Flavors is an umbrella term that is used to describe many different ingredients, some of which are animal sourced.

Does Raisin Bran Contain Dairy

Raisin Bran does not contain dairy.

Does Raisin Bran Contain Eggs

Raisin Bran does not contain eggs or egg whites.

Does Raisin Bran Contain Honey

Two flavors of the popular Kellogg’s Raisin Bran contain honey.

  • Kellogg’s Raisin Bran Crunch
  • Kellogg’s Raisin Bran Crunch Vanilla Almond

Does Raisin Bran Contain Gelatin

Raisin Bran does not contain any gelatin.

What Ingredients Are In Raisin Bran

You will find the following ingredients in classic Kellog’s Raisin Bran.

Whole grain wheat, raisins, wheat bran, sugar, brown sugar syrup. Contains 2% or less of malt flavor, salt. and added vitamins and minerals

Is Raisin Bran Vegan

Is Kellogg’s Raisin Bran With Cranberries Vegan

Kellogg’s Raisin Bran with Cranberries is not considered vegan by many due to its containing white sugar and vitamin D that is sourced from animals.

 Whole grain wheat, rice, sugar, wheat bran, raisins, cranberries, brown sugar syrup, vegetable glycerin. Contains 2% or less of salt, malt flavor, and added vitamins and minerals

Is Raisin Bran Crunch Vegan

Raisin Bran Crunch is not vegan due to its containing honey as well as many other ingredients like sugar, natural flavors, palm oil and added Vitamin D.

Whole grain wheat, sugar, rice, raisins, wheat bran, whole grain oats, brown sugar syrup, vegetable glycerin. Contains 2% or less of corn syrup, salt, natural flavor, modified corn starch, molasses, palm oil, cinnamon, honey, mixed tocopherols, and added vitamins and minerals.

Is Raisin Bran Crunch Vanilla Almond Vegan

Kellogg’s Raisin Bran Crunch Vanilla Almond is not vegan due to its containing honey as well as many other questionable ingredients.

Whole grain wheat, rice, sugar, raisins, wheat bran, almonds, whole grain oats, brown sugar syrup, vegetable glycerin. Contains 2% or less of corn syrup, salt, natural flavor, modified corn starch, molasses, palm oil, cinnamon, honey, mixed tocopherols and added vitamins and minerals.

Is Raisin Bran Toasted Oats And Honey Vegan

Raisin Bran Toasted Oats and Honey is not vegan due to containing honey in addition to white sugar and added vitamins like D3.

Whole grain wheat, sugar, rice, raisins, wheat bran, whole grain oats, vegetable glycerin, honey. Contains 2% or less of brown sugar syrup, malt flavor, salt, canola oil, molasses, mixed tocopherols, BHT, added vitamins, and minerals.

Is Post Raisin Bran Vegan

Post Raisin Bran is not considered vegan by many due to containing white sugar and vitamin D3.

WHOLE GRAIN WHEAT, RAISINS, WHEAT BRAN, SUGAR, WHEAT FLOUR, MALTED BARLEY FLOUR, SALT.

REDUCED IRON, NIACINAMIDE (VITAMIN B3), ZINC OXIDE (SOURCE OF ZINC), VITAMIN A PALMITATE, PRYIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B6), THIAMIN MONONITRATE (VITAMIN B1), RIBOFLAVIN (VITAMIN B2), FOLIC ACID, VITAMIN B12, VITAMIN D3.

Vegan Raisin Bran Options

Luckily, there are some vegan-friendly alternatives to Kellogg’s and Post Raisin Bran.

  • Natures Path Flax Plus Raisin Bran Flakes
  • Cascadian Farms Raisin Bran Cereal

Final Thoughts

Classic Raisin Bran made by Kellogg’s and Post is not considered vegan due to its containing questionable sugar and vitamin D3 which is sourced from animals.

Although, some may consider this cereal acceptable you do need to be aware that some flavors contain honey making them 100% non-vegan.

Luckily, there are some great vegan alternatives out there like Nature’s Path and Cascadian Farms.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Is Shredded Wheat Vegan