Is Honey Maid Smore's Cereal Vegan

Is Honey Maid Smore’s Cereal Vegan (Quick Facts & Alternatives)



Can Vegans Eat Honey Maid Smore’s Cereal

Unfortunately, due to containing a variety of non-vegan ingredients, Honey Maid Smore’s Cereal is not vegan-friendly.

Why Wouldn’t Honey Maid Smore’s Be Vegan

Honey Maid Smore’s Cereal contains one obvious ingredient that is not vegan in addition to some that are considered questionable.

  • Gelatin
  • White Sugar
  • Vitamin D3

Why Isn’t Gelatin Vegan

Gelatin is made by boiling down animal bones and ligaments.

Since this is an animal product vegans, as well as vegetarians, will choose to avoid it.

You will find gelatin inside of the marshmallows in Honey Maid Smore’s Cereal.

Why Isn’t White Sugar Vegan

White sugar is considered a controversial ingredient.

In most cases, bone char from animals is used during the processing of white sugar.

The bone char is used to bleach or whiten the sugar.

You can avoid white sugar processed with bone char by only eating raw sugar, organic sugar or products that contain them.

Why Isn’t Vitamin D3 Vegan

Vitamin D3 found in breakfast cereals is often sourced from sheep’s wool.

Does Honey Maid Smore’s Contain Gelatin

Honey Maid Smore’s cereal does contain gelatin in the marshmallows.

Does Honey Maid Smore’s Contain Honey

Honey Maid Smore’s does not contain any honey.

Does Honey Maid Smore’s Contain Eggs

Honey Maid Smore’s does not contain eggs or egg whites.

Does Honey Maid Smore’s Contain Dairy

Honey Maid Smore’s Cereal does not contain any dairy products.

Is Honey Maid Smore's Cereal Vegan

What Ingredients Are In Honey Maid Smore’s

You will find the following ingredients in a box of Honey Maid Smore’s Cereal.

Sugar, Corn Meal, Whole Grain Wheat, Marshmallows (Sugar, Modified Cornstarch, Corn Syrup, Dextrose, Gelatin, Sodium Hexametaphosphate, Natural and Artificial Flavor), Canola and/or Soybean Oil, Corn Flour, Molasses, Salt, Fructose, Honey, Calcium Carbonate, Corn Syrup, Baking Soda, Cocoa (Processed With Alkali), Soy Lecithin, Dextrose, Caramel Color, Trisodium Phosphate, Natural and Artificial Flavor, TBHQ and BHT Added To Preserve Freshness.Vitamins and Minerals: Ferric Orthophosphate (Source of Iron), Niacinamide (Vitamin B3), Zinc Oxide, Thiamin Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Calcium Pantothenate (Vitamin B5), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Folic Acid.

Vegan Alternatives To Honey Maid Smore’s Cereal

  • Cascadian Farms Graham Crunch
  • Natures Path Sunrise Crunchy Vanilla
  • Natures Path Cocoa Chimps

Final Thoughts

Unfortunately, Any cereal that has marshmallows is most likely going to contain gelatin making it not vegan.

Luckily, there are some great vegan alternatives to Honey Maid Smore’s Cereal that can still provide that sweet graham or cholate flavors you are looking for.

Related Articles:

Want More Cereal Information?

Recommended Guides

Best Vegan Cereals

How To Shop For Vegan Cereals

Non-Vegan Ingredients In Breakfast Cereals

Favorite Breakfast Supplies