Are Wheaties Vegan

Are Wheaties Vegan (Quick Facts & Alternatives)

Wheaties are a staple and have been made famous by, professional athletes throughout the years but, are Wheaties vegan?

Can Vegans Eat Wheaties

Unfortunately, Wheaties are not vegan since they contain honey in addition to some other questionable ingredients.

Luckily, there are some great vegan options to try, I have listed some of them down below.

Why Wouldn’t Wheaties Be Vegan

Wheaties contains three ingredients that are considered questionable to many vegans.

  • White Sugar
  • Honey
  • Vitamin D3

Why Isn’t White Sugar Vegan

White sugar is often processed using bone char.

Manufacturers use bone char to whiten or bleach the sugar granules.

Although these companies claim that you won’t find any bone char in the finished product many vegans will avoid white sugar altogether due to the use of animal products during processing.

You can avoid sugar processed with bone char by selecting raw cane sugar, organic sugar, or products that contain these ingredients.

Why Isn’t Honey Vegan

Honey is a product that is made by bees for their own consumption.

Vegans are usually not ok with taking the honey from the bees for our own uses.

Why Isn’t Vitamin D3 Vegan

Vitamin D3 is often sourced from sheep’s wool making it a questionable ingredient to many.

Do Wheaties Contain Honey

Unfortunately, Wheaties do contain honey.

Do Wheaties Contain Eggs

Wheaties do not contain eggs or egg whites.

Do Wheaties Contain Dairy

Wheaties do not contain any dairy products.

Do Wheaties Contain Gelatin

Wheaties do not contain gelatin.

Are Wheaties Vegan

What Ingredients Are In Wheaties

You will find the following ingredients in a box of Wheaties.

Whole Grain Wheat, Sugar, Honey, Salt. Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) Added to Preserve Freshness.

Vitamins and Minerals: Iron and Zinc (mineral nutrients), Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate), A B Vitamin (niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate), Vitamin A (palmitate), A B Vitamin (folic acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3.

Vegan Alternatives To Wheaties

  • Natures Path Heritage Flakes
  • Natures Path Mesa Sunrise
  • Natures Path Multi-Bran Flakes

Final Thoughts

Although Wheaties are popular they are not vegan-friendly since they contain honey, white sugar, and vitamin D3.

If you love the flavors and textures of Wheaties you have some great alternatives that you can try with Nature’s Path Cereals.

Related Articles:

Want More Cereal Information?

Recommended Guides

Best Vegan Cereals

How To Shop For Vegan Cereals

Non-Vegan Ingredients In Breakfast Cereals

Favorite Breakfast Supplies