Are Corn Pops Vegan

Are Corn Pops Vegan (Quick Facts & Alternatives)

Corn Pops is a popular corn-based sweet and crunchy cereal but, are Corn Pops vegan?

Corn Pops are a cereal that falls into a gray area where some vegans may consider it vegan whereas others will not. Corn Pops contain two ingredients that are considered controversial.

Can Vegans Eat Corn Pops

Some vegans will be ok with eating Corn Pops whereas other that follow a more strict diet will not.

Why Wouldn’t Corn Pops Be Vegan

Corn Pops contain a couple of ingredients that are considered questionable to many vegans.

  • White Sugar
  • Vitamin D3

Why Isn’t White Sugar Vegan

Regular white sugar is often processed using bone char.

Bone char is used to whiten to bleach the sugar.

Manufacturers claim that none of the bone char ends up in the finished product.

Regardless, many vegans will still avoid consuming white sugar since it uses an animal product during processing.

You can avoid white sugar that has been processed with bone char by only consuming raw sugar or organic sugar as well as products that contain those ingredients.

Why Isn’t Vitamin D3 Vegan

The added Vitamin D3 that is often added to breakfast cereal is usually sourced from sheep’s wool.

Do Corn Pops Contain Eggs

Corn Pops do not contain eggs or egg whites.

Do Corn Pops Contain Honey

Corn Pops do not contain honey.

Do Corn Pops Contain Dairy

Corn Pops do not contain any dairy products.

Do Corn Pops Contain Gelatin

Corn Pops do not contain any gelatin.

Are Corn Pops Vegan

What Ingredients Are In Corn Pops

You will find the following ingredients in a box of Corn Pops.

Milled corn, sugar, corn syrup, contains 2% or less of molasses, salt, vegetable oil (hydrogenated coconut, soybean and/or cottonseed), mixed tocopherols (vitamin E) for freshness, annatto extract color, wheat starch. Vitamins and Minerals: Reduced iron, niacinamide, vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin B2 (riboflavin), vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride), folic acid, vitamin D3, vitamin B12.

Are Corn Pops Jumbo Snax Vegan

Corn Pops Jumbo Snax are not considered vegan to most vegans since they contain white sugar, natural flavor, and vitamin D3.

Degerminated yellow corn meal, sugar, corn bran, brown sugar syrup, contains 2% or less of salt, natural flavor, wheat flour, BHT for freshness. Vitamins and Minerals: Reduced iron, niacinamide, vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin B2 (riboflavin), vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride), folic acid, vitamin D3, vitamin B12.

Vegan Corn Pop Alternatives

The following cereals are great vegan options to try that are similar to Corn Pops

  • Barbaras Puffins Original
  • Arrowhead Mills Puffed Corn Cereal
  • Natures Path Gorilla Munch Corn Puffs

Final Thoughts

Corn Pops have a distinct sweet corn flavor in a light and fluffy bite but, they are considered off-limits to some vegans due to containing a couple of questionable ingredients.

White sugar and Vitamin D3 are often processed using animal by-products or sourced from animals making them not vegan.

Some vegans don’t follow a strict diet and may still consider Corn Pops a vegan food.

Related Articles:

Want More Cereal Information?

Recommended Guides

Best Vegan Cereals

How To Shop For Vegan Cereals

Non-Vegan Ingredients In Breakfast Cereals

Favorite Breakfast Supplies