Are Corn Flakes Vegan

Are Corn Flakes Vegan (Quick Facts & Alternatives)

Corn Flakes are the original breakfast cereal, but are Corn Flakes vegan?

Many vegans will still enjoy a bowl of Corn Flakes whereas those that are super strict with their vegan lifestyle may not.

Can Vegans Eat Corn Flakes

Many vegans are ok with eating regular Corn Flakes.

Some strict vegans may not since they do contain one questionable ingredient.

Why Wouldn’t Corn Flakes Be Vegan

Corn Flakes contain one ingredient that may be considered questionable to some strict vegans.

  • White Sugar

Why Wouldn’t White Sugar Be Vegan

Regular white sugar is often processed using bone char from animals.

The bone char is used to bleach or whiten the sugar.

Although the bone char does not end up in the finished product, many vegans will avoid regular white sugar due to the use of animal by-products.

You can avoid sugar processed with bone char by only consuming raw or organic sugar or products that contain them.

Are Corn Flakes Vegan

Do Corn Flakes Contain Dairy

Corn Flakes do not contain dairy products.

Do Corn Flakes Contain Eggs

Corn Flakes do not contain eggs.

Do Corn Flakes Contain Gelatin

Corn Flakes do not contain gelatin.

Do Corn Flakes Contain Honey

Corn Flakes do not contain honey.

What Ingredients Are In Corn Flakes

You will discover the following ingredients in a box of Corn Flakes.

milled corn, sugar, malt flavor, contains 2% or less of salt. bht added to packaging for freshness. vitamins and minerals: iron, vitamin c (sodium ascorbate, ascorbic acid), niacinamide, vitamin b6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin b2 (riboflavin), vitamin b (thiamin hydrochloride), vitamin a palmitate, folic acid, vitamin d, vitamin b12.

Vegan Alternatives To Corn Flakes

The following options are cleaner versions of a corn flake cereal.

  • Barbaras Organic Corn Flakes
  • Natures Path Corn Flakes

Final Thoughts

Corn Flakes are the OG of breakfast cereals whether you enjoy a bowl by themselves or with the addition of fresh fruit.

As a vegan, you may or may not want to eat regular Corn Flakes.

If you choose to look elsewhere there are some great vegan and organic options that you can try.

Related Articles:

Want More Cereal Information?

Recommended Guides

Best Vegan Cereals

How To Shop For Vegan Cereals

Non-Vegan Ingredients In Breakfast Cereals

Favorite Breakfast Supplies