Are Bran Flakes Vegan

Are Bran Flakes Vegan (Quick Facts)

Bran Flakes are a classic breakfast cereal but, are Bran Flakes Vegan Friendly?

Post Bran Flakes fall into a grey area where some vegans will consider the cereal vegans whereas others will not. Bran Flakes contain two ingredients that are often debated as being vegan or not.

Can Vegans Eat Bran Flakes

Post Bran Flakes may b consumed by some vegans but, are off limits to others due to containing two controversial ingredients.

Why Wouldn’t Bran Flakes Be Vegan

Bran Flakes contains the following ingredients that are often considered questionable to many vegans.

  • White Sugar
  • Vitamin D3

Why Isn’t White Sugar Considered Vegan

Regular white sugar is often processed using bone char (yes bones from animals)

Bone char is used to bleach or whiten the sugar.

Although it’s said that none of the bone char is left in the finished sugar many vegans would choose to avoid white sugar altogether due to the use of animal by-products.

You can avoid sugar processed with bone char by only consuming unbleached cane sugar and organic sugar.

Also, look for products that contain these ingredients.

Why Isn’t Vitamin D3 Vegan

The added vitamin D3 that is often found in breakfast cereals is usually sourced from sheep’s wool.

Is All Bran Vegan

Do Bran Flakes Contain Gelatin

Bran Flakes do not contain any gelatin.

Do Bran Flakes Contain Eggs

Bran Flakes do not contain any eggs or egg whites.

Do Bran Flakes Contain Dairy

Bran Flakes do not contain any dairy products.

Do Bran Flakes Contain Honey

Bran Flakes do not contain any honey.

Are Great Grains Vegan

Are Bran Flakes Vegan

What Are The Ingredients In Bran Flakes

You will find the following ingredients in Post Bran Flakes Cereal,

WHOLE GRAIN WHEAT, WHEAT BRAN, SUGAR, WHEAT FLOUR, MALTED BARLEY FLOUR, SALT.

Added vitamins and minerals found in Bran Flakes.

(VITAMIN B3), ZINC
OXIDE (source of zinc), VITAMIN A
PALMITATE, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE
(VITAMIN B6), THIAMIN MONONITRATE
(VITAMIN B1), RIBOFLAVIN (VITAMIN B2),
FOLIC ACID, VITAMIN B12, VITAMIN D3.

Final Thoughts

Ultimately, it is up to you if Post Bran Flakes are vegan or not.

Since white sugar and vitamin D3 are controversial some vegans may choose to avoid these ingredients making Bran Flakes off-limits.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Are Grape Nuts Vegan