Are Mike And Ikes Vegan

Are Mike And Ikes Vegan Or Vegetarian (Quick Facts)

Mike And Ike Candy is classic with its traditional fruity flavors, hard outer coating, and chew center but, are Mike And Ike’s vegan or vegetarian?

Mike And Ike’s candy is not vegan or vegetarian although, many may say it is due to controversial ingredients that are not clearly determined or labeled as coming from animal sources.

Are Mike And Ikes Candy Vegan

Mike And Ikes candy is technically not vegan due to containing ingredients derived from animals.

Vegetarian and Vegan Options At Pop...
Vegetarian and Vegan Options At Popeyes

That said the ingredients are controversial and some vegans would still consider Mike And Ikes Vegan.

Why Are Mike And Ikes Candy Controversial

The ingredients used to make the hard outer coating as shiny as it comes from a shellac resin that is secreted from the Iac bug.

Yes, the coating on this candy comes from bugs.

Why Do Some People Consider Mike And Ikes Vegan

The confectioners glaze that is used for Mike And Ikes candy is not clearly noted as a vegan or non-vegan ingredient.

Unfortunately, unlike other ingredients, there isn’t a full consensus on whether these ingredients are vegan or not.

Many people have no idea that Mike And Ike Candies could contain any animal or bug-sourced ingredients.

Are Mike And Ikes Candy Vegetarian

Mike And Ikes Candy could be considered vegetarian but, we have the same controversial ingredients included that makes Mike And Ikes candy controversial.

If you are a vegetarian it is really up to up if you consider that candy coating vegetarian or not.

Do Mike And Ikes Contain Gelatin

Unlike many other candies that have a gummy or chewy texture, Mike And Ikes do not contain the non-vegan and non-vegetarian ingredient gelatin.

Do Mike And Ikes Contain Dairy

Mike And Ikes candy do not contain any dairy products.

Do Mike And Ikes Contain Pork

Mike And Ikes candy do not contain any pork products.

Do Mike And Ikes Contain Beef

Mike And Ikes candy does not contain any ingredients derived from beef.

Do Mike And Ike Candy Contain Red 4

Red 4 is a non-vegan food coloring that comes from dried and smashed-up bugs (yes, it’s true), it’s also known as carmine.

Mike And Ike Candy do not contain Red 4, instead, they used Red 40 which is vegan and vegetarian friendly although it is a petroleum product.

Are Sour Patch Kids Vegetarian Or Vegan?

What Ingredients Are In Mike And Ikes Candy

The original Mike And Ike’s candy include the following ingredients.

SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, MODIFIED FOOD STARCH, CONTAINS LESS THAN 0.5% OF THE FOLLOWING: CITRIC ACID, MALIC ACID, FUMARIC ACID, SODIUM CITRATE, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, DEXTRIN, CONFECTIONERS GLAZE, CARNAUBA WAX, MEDIUM CHAIN TRIGLYCERIDES, RED #40, YELLOW #6, YELLOW #5 (TARTRAZINE), BLUE #1

What Non-Vegan Ingredients Are In Mike And Ikes Candy

The only possible non-vegan ingredient included in Mike And Ikes Candy is the confectioner’s glaze which includes an ingredient that is sourced from bugs.

What Non-Vegetarian Ingredients Are In Mike And Ikes Candy

Just as with the non-vegan ingredients the only questionable non-vegetarian ingredient would be the confectioner’s glaze.

Are Mike And Ikes Vegetarian

Are There Any Other Questionable Ingredients Found In Mike And Ikes

Unfortunately, the majority of candies as well as many processed foods often contain a variety of questionable ingredients.

Some of the ingredients that may be of concern in Mike And Ike Candy are.

  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Natural Flavors
  • Artifical Flavors
  • Food Coloring

Why Is Sugar A Questionable Ingredient In Mike And Ike’s Candy

White sugar often comes from sugar beets which are usually genetically modified as well as being heavily sprayed with pesticides.

Besides that white sugar is often processed using bone char from animals.

Why Is Corn Syrup A Questionable Ingredient In Mike And Ike’s Candy

Corn syrup is made from highly sprayed genetically modified corn.

Why Are Natural Flavors A Concern In Mike And Ike’s Candy

Natural flavors sound like a harmless ingredients but, the truth is we really have no idea what they are.

The term “natural flavors” is an umbrella term used for many different ingredients.

Why Are Artifical Flavors A Concern In Mike And Ike’s Candy

Artifical flavors are synthetic flavorings that is a concern for many.

Why Are Food Colorings A Concern In Mike And Ike’s Candy

Artifical food coloring has been attached to many negative health concerns including ADHD and other childhood mental and emotional conditions.

Vegan Alternatives To Mike And Ike Candy

Final Thoughts

Mike And Ike Candy is a very controversial candy with ingredients that are not really vegan or vegetarian but, due to unclear labeling and information many still think of Mike And Ike candy as a vegan treat.

It’s a reminder to all of us that eat a certain diet that includes foods and ingredients that we need to do our homework and due diligence before we eat something.

For a new vegan or vegetarian that can seem daunting.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Are Hi-Chews Vegan Or Vegetarian? (Quick Facts)