Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan

Are Sour Patch Kids Vegetarian Or Vegan

Sour Patch Kids are a favorite of many with their sour bite that fades into a sweet gooey treat but, can vegetarians and vegans eat Sour Patch Kids?

Sour Patch Kids are vegetarian and vegan since they do not contain animal products but, many of the ingredients are concerning to some vegans making them a food to avoid.

Are Sour Patch Kids Vegetarian

Sour Patch Kids do not contain any animal ingredients making them suitable for vegetarians to enjoy.

Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan

Sweet Pongal
Sweet Pongal

Sour Patch Kids are technically vegan since they do not contain animal products but, there are some questionable ingredients that may make some vegans skip eating Sour Patch Kids.

Why Wouldn’t Sour Patch Kids Be Vegan?

Sour Patch Kids do not contain animal products but, they do contain many questionable ingredients to many vegans.

The most concerning ingredients are.

  • Sugar
  • Natural Flavorings
  • Artificial Flavorings
  • Food Colorings

Why Would Vegans Not Want To Eat Sugar

Sugar is not an animal product but, the process to create sugar does.

In order to create bright white refined cane, sugar bone char is used in the processing.

The finished product does not contain any of the bone char but, many vegans may want to avoid any sugar that is created in this manner.

Why Would Vegans Not Want To Eat Natural Flavorings

Natural Flavorings can be from plant or animal sources.

Most candies like Sour Patch Patch do not clearly label the type or source of the natural flavorings making it a questionable product to consume as a vegan.

Why Would Vegan s Not Want To Eat Artifical Flavorings

Artificial flavorings are also very questionable to confirm exactly what they are and if they have been tested on animals.

Why Would Vegans Not Want To Eat Food Coloring

Food coloring is not a very healthy ingredient to consume but, besides that, food coloring can sometimes contain animal products or be tested on animals.

Are Sour Patch Kids Vegetarian

Why Would Vegans Eat Sour Patch Kids

Each person has a unique viewpoint on what is ok for them to consume and what isn’t.

Since Sour Patch Kids do not contain any animal products that may make them ok for some vegans to consume.

On the other hand, the questionable ingredients may be enough for others to omit SOur Patch Kids from their diets.

Are Sour Patch Kids Plant-Based

The majority of people that follow a plant-based diet eat a diet that is full of fruit, vegetables, legumes, and grains with a small portion of lean protein and dairy.

Those following a plant-based diet limit the processed foods that they consume.

A plant-based diet can contain Sour Patch Kids but, they would be in extreme moderation.

Do Sour Patch Kids Have Gelatin

Although, many gummy candies contact gelatin to give them that classic gummy texture, Sour Patch Kids do not have gelatin in them.

Do Sour Patch Kids Contain Animal Products

Sour Patch Kids do not contain animal products, but, many ingredients are a concern for some people due to the processing required or the testing of ingredients on animals.

Do Sour Patch Kids Contain Pork

Sour Patch Kids do not contain pork.

What Are The Ingredients In Sour Patch Kids

The original Sour Patch Kids contain the following ingredients.

  • Sugar
  • Invert Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Tartaric Acid
  • Citric Acid
  • Natural Flavor
  • Artificial Flavor
  • Yellow 6
  • Red 40
  • Yellow 5
  • Blue 5

Are Sour Patch Kids UK Vegetarian

The UK recipe used to create Sour Patch Kids is not vegan since it contains gelatin.

Are Sour Patch Kids Extreme Sour Vegetarian

Sour Patch Kids Extreme Sour are vegetarian-friendly.

Are Sour Patch Kids Watermelon Vegetarian

Sour Patch Kids Watermelon are vegetarian.

Are Sour Patch Kids Bunnies Vegetarian

Sour Patch Kids Bunnies are Vegetarian.

Are Sour Patch Kids Jelly Beans Vegetarian

Sour Patch Kids Jelly Beans are vegetarian.

Are Sour Patch Kids Strawberries Vegetarian

Sour Patch Kids Strawberries are vegetarian.

Are Sour Patch Kids Berries Vegetarian

Sour Patch Kids Berries are vegetarian.

Are Sour Patch Kids Crush Soda Flavors Vegetarian

Sour Patch Kids Crush Soda Flavor are vegetarian-friendly.

Are Sour Patch Kids Tropical Soft & Chewy Candy Vegetarian

Sour Patch Kids Tropical Soft & Chewy Candies are vegetarian.

Are Sour Patch Kids Extreme Sour Vegan

Sour Patch Kids Extreme Sour are vegan.

You will find the following ingredients in Sour Patch Kids Extreme.

SUGAR,INVERTSUGAR,CORN SYRUP,MODIFIED CORN STARCH,CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF TARTARIC ACID,CITRIC ACID,NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR,YELLOW 6,RED 40,YELLOW 5,BLUE 1.

Are Sour Patch Kids Watermelon Vegan

Sour Patch Kids Watermelon are vegan.

You will find the following ingredients in Sour Patch Kids Watermelon.

SUGAR,INVERTSUGAR,CORN SYRUP,MODIFIED CORN STARCH,CITRIC ACID,TARTARIC ACID,NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR,TITANIUM DIOXIDE,RED 40,YELLOW 5,BLUE 1.

Are Sour Patch Kids Bunnies Vegan

Sour Patch Kids Bunnies are vegan.

You will find the following ingredients in Sour Patch Kids Bunnies.

SUGAR,INVERTSUGAR,CORN SYRUP,MODIFIED CORN STARCH,CITRIC ACID,TARTARIC ACID,NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR,TITANIUM DIOXIDE,RED 40,YELLOW 5.

Are Sour Patch Kids Jelly Beans Vegan

Sour Patch Kids Jelly Beans are not vegan since they contain beeswax.

Are Sour Patch Kids Strawberries Vegan

Sour Patch Kids Strawberries are vegan.

You will find the following ingredients in Sour Patch Kids Strawberries.

 SUGAR, INVERT SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, MODIFIED CORN STARCH, CITRIC ACID, TARTARIC ACID, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, RED 40, YELLOW 5, BLUE 1.

Are Sour Patch Kids Berries Vegan

Sour Patch Kids Berries are vegan-friendly.

You will find the following ingredient in Sour Patch Kids Berries.

SUGAR,INVERTSUGAR,CORN SYRUP,MODIFIED CORN STARCH,CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF TARTARIC ACID,CITRIC ACID,NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR,RED 40,BLUE 1.

Are Sour Patch Kids Crush Soda Flavors Vegan

Sour Patch Kids Crush Soda Flavor is vegan-friendly.

You will find the following ingredients in Sour Patch Kids Crush Soda Flavor.

SUGAR, INVERT SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, MODIFIED CORN STARCH, CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF TARTARIC ACID, CITRIC ACID, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, YELLOW 6, RED 40, YELLOW 5, BLUE 1.

Are Sour Patch Kids Tropical Soft & Chewy Candy Vegan

Sour Patch Kids Tropical Soft & Chew Candy are vegan friendly.

You will find the following ingredients in Sour Patch Kids Tropical Soft & Chewy Candy.

SUGAR,INVERTSUGAR,CORN SYRUP,MODIFIED CORN STARCH,CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF TARTARIC ACID,CITRIC ACID,NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR,TITANIUM DIOXIDE,YELLOW 6,RED 40,BLUE 1.

Vegan Sour Patch Alternatives

Final Thoughts

Sour Patch Kids are a classic favorite especially when you visit the movie theater.

Luckily, this sweet and sour candy doesn’t contain animal products making it both vegetarian and friendly although, it does contain some questionable ingredients.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Can Vegetarians Or Vegans Eat Honey (Quick Facts)