Are Airheads Vegan (Quick Facts)

Airheads are a very popular tart taffy-like candy but, are airheads vegan?

Classic Airheads are vegan but, there are many questionable ingredients to consider before taking a bite. You do need to be aware that many of the other candies offered under the Airheads brand like gummies are not vegan due to containing animal-based ingredients.

Can Vegans Eat Airheads

Classic Airheads are vegan but, there are many questionable ingredients for vegans to consider.

You do need to be aware that many of the Airhead brand products like gummies are not vegan due to containing animal products.

Why Wouldn’t Airheads Be Vegan

Candy can often contain many ingredients that are not vegan or are considered controversial.

  • Gelatin
  • Honey
  • Beeswax
  • Shellac
  • Carmine
  • Artificial Colors
  • White Sugar
  • Palm Oil
  • Palm Fat
  • Artificial Flavors
  • Natural Flavors

Why Aren’t Artificial Colors Vegan

Artificial colors are often tested on animals making them not a vegan-friendly ingredient.

Why Isn’t White Sugar Vegan

Regular white sugar is a questionable ingredient since it is often processed using bone char.

You can avoid sugar that is processed with bone char by only consuming organic sugar.

Why Wouldn’t Palm Oil Or Palm Fat Be Vegan

Palm oil is technically vegan since it doesn’t contain any animal products.

Where palm oil may be a concern to many is the horrible effects it has on the environment of many animals.

Why Wouldn’t Artificial Flavors be Vegan

Artificial flavorings fall under a grey area where they can be sourced from plants or animals.

Although in many cases they come from plants, it does not need to be noted on the packaging.

Why Aren’t Natural Flavors Vegan

Natural flavors can often be sourced from animals and very questionable sources.

Many are shocked to discover that vanilla flavoring is sometimes sourced from the anal glands of beavers (yes, anal glands).

Are Hi-Chews Vegan Or Vegetarian

Do Airheads Contain Gelatin

Classic Airheads do not contain gelatin but, many of the gummy versions of airheads candy do contain gelatin.

Do Airheads Contain Pork Gelatin

Unless it is noted on the packaging it can be hard to determine where the gelatin is sourced.

Classic Airheads candy doesn’t include gelatin but, the gummy versions do.

What Ingredients Are In Airheads

You will find the following ingredients in classic airheads candy.

Sugar, Corn Syrup, Maltodextrin, Dextrose, Modified
Food Starch (Corn), Palm Oil; contains less than 2% of:
Citric Acid, Water, Artificial Flavors, Red 40, Blue 1,
Yellow 6, Yellow 5.

Are Jolly Ranchers Vegetarian Or Vegan

Are Airheads Bites Vegan

Airheads Bites are not vegan due to containing beeswax and shellac.

Shellac is an ingredient that comes from the secretions of bugs (it’s true).

Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Maltodextrin, Dextrose,
Hydrogenated Coconut Oil; Contains Less Than 2% Of:
Citric Acid, Modified Corn Starch, Sorbitol, Artificial
Flavors, Glycerine, Rice Starch, Carnauba Wax,
Beeswax, Shellac, Gellan Gum, Sucrose Esters Of Fatty
Acids, Red 40, Yellow 6, Blue 1, Yellow 5

Are Airheads Soft-Filled Bites Vegan

Airheads’ soft-filled bites are not vegan-friendly due to containing gelatin.

Sugar, Glucose Syrup, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Corn
Starch, Food Starch – Modified (Corn), Food Starch –
Modified (Potato), Contains Less Than 2 Percent Of:
Malic Acid, Dextrose, Citric Acid, Coconut Oil, Lactic
Acid, Gelatin, Artificial Flavors, Hydrogenated Palm
Oil, Sorbitol Syrup, Glycerin, Salt, Fumaric Acid,
Trisodium Citrate, Yellow 5, Red 40, Blue 1, Yellow 6

Are Mike And Ikes Vegan Or Vegetarian

Are Airheads Gummies Vegan

Airheads Gummies are not vegan due to their containing gelatin and beeswax.


Are Airheads Filled Ropes Vegan

Airhead-filled ropes are not vegan-friendly due to containing gelatin.

 Sugar, Corn Syrup Corn Starch, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Food Starch – Modified Contains 2% or Less of Dextrose, Citric Acid, Malic Acid, Palm Oil, Gelatin, Lactic Acid, Sorbitol, Salt, Glycerin, Fumaric Acid, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Potassium Citrate, Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1, Yellow 6.

Is Airheads Gum Vegan

Chewing gum is often a vegan-friendly candy but, all of the current flavors or airheads gum contain carmines as a coloring.

Carmine is not vegan since it is derived from bugs.

Xylitol, Sorbitol, Chewing Gum Base, Glycerol, Maltitol Syrup;
Contains Less Than 2 Percent Of: Malic Acid, Artificial Flavors,
Citric Acid, Tartaric Acid, Aspartame, Carrageenan, Coconut Fat,
Sucralose, Lecithin (Soy), Acesulfame K, Sucrose Fatty Acid Esters,
BHT to Maintain Freshness, Blue 1 Lake, Color (Carmines

Final Thoughts

Although a candy may be vegan it can still contain many ingredients that are questionable and may provide enough of a reason to avoid that product.

The classic Airheads taffy is vegan but, has concerning ingredients.

Many of the additional products offered under the Airheads name including chewing gum contain animal-based ingredients and are not vegan.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Are Sour Patch Kids Vegetarian Or Vegan