vegan cereal guide

Vegan Cereal Guide

Breakfast cereal is a favorite way for many to start their day but, as a vegan, it can often be challenging.

There are oftentimes hidden non-vegan ingredients in your favorite cereals as well as some that are debatable.

Luckily, more brands are making an effort to provide customers with delicious breakfast cereals that are full of high-quality vegan ingredients,

What Makes A Cereal Vegan Friendly

Some may automatically assume that most breakfast cereals are vegan but, unfortunately, that is not correct.

It’s not as simple as swapping out your milk for a plant-based option.

Many manufactured breakfast cereals contain animal-derived ingredients that are not obvious to most people.

Even if a cereal is labeled as “vegan” you still need to check the label, depending on your lifestyle you may still discover ingredients that you have chosen not to consume.

Honey is often an ingredient in breakfast cereal that many vegans avoid whereas some may still consider it acceptable.

What Can Make A Cereal Not Vegan

Obvious and sneaky ingredients are hiding in most boxes of breakfast cereals that are on the shelf at your local grocery store.

Some of these ingredients include.

  • Honey
  • Gelatin
  • Whey
  • Dry Milk
  • White Sugar
  • Vitamin D3

For the complete list and why these ingredients are not vegan you can read my article 10 Ingredients In Breakfast Cereals That Aren’t Vegan.

How Can I Shop For Vegan Cereals

Now that you know there are non-vegan ingredients lurking in your breakfast cereals how do we shop for a box of cereal without spending all day looking at labels?

Luckily, there are many some brand of cereal that make vegan-friendly options as well as those that are “accidentally” vegan.

You still need to be cautious and read labels because not every cereal these brands make is vegan-friendly but, knowing which brand and products to look for will save time.

Some mainstream breakfast cereal brands that offer vegan cereals include.

  • Cascadian Farms
  • Kashi
  • Nature’s Path
  • Barbaras Cereal

For the entire list, you can view my article How To Shop For Vegan Cereals (11 Vegan Brands).

What Are The Best Vegan Cereals

The best vegan cereal is a big title to undertake.

The best cereal will always depend on what type of cereal you prefer.

If you love the classics like Corn Flakes then Barbaras Corn Flakes are for you, if a sweet Chocolate and Peanut Butter Cereal is what you are after you would love Nature’s Path Leapin Lemurs.

Visit this article for a full list of the 22 Best Vegan Cereals.

Can You Find Vegan Cereals At The Grocery Store

You can find vegan cereals at your local grocery store but, you will need to know where to look.

Most mainstream cereals are not vegan-friendly since they contain animal-derived ingredients or those that are considered controversial to many.

Does Kellogs Have Any Vegan Cereals

Kellogg’s offers many pantry staple breakfast cereals like the original Corn Flakes and has a few that are vegan-friendly.

Visit Are Kellogg’s Cereals Vegan for the complete list.

Does Post Have Any Vegan Cereals

Post offers favorites like Golden Crisp and Grapenuts but, are they vegan?

Visit Are Post Cereals Vegan for the complete list of vegan cereal options.

Does General Mills Have Any Vegan Cereals

General Mills offers selections like Cinnamon Toast Crunch and Lucky Charms but, do they have any vegan options?

Visit Does General Mills Have Any Vegan Cereals.

Breakfast Cereal Favorites

Now that we are excited to enjoy a bowl of cereal lets do it in style, check out my favorite breakfast cereal favorites.

Want More Cereal Information?

Recommended Guides

Best Vegan Cereals

How To Shop For Vegan Cereals

Non-Vegan Ingredients In Breakfast Cereals

Favorite Breakfast Supplies