Is Smart Start Vegan

Is Smart Start Vegan (Quick Facts)

Smart Start Cereal is a cllassic whole grain flake cereal with clusters ut, is Smart Start Vegan?

Smart Start Cereal is not vegan-friendly since it contains animal scourced ingredients that are avoided by most vegans. Lucikly there are many delicious vegan Smart Start Substitues available.

Can Vegans Eat Smart Start

Unfortunately, Smart Start cereal is not vegan-friendly since it contains honey which is often avoided by vegans.

Why Wouldn’t Smart Start Be Vegan

Breakfast cereal like Smart Start can often contain unexpected non-vegan ingredients like honey, whey and dairy products in addition to many questionable ingredients like white sugar and artificial colorings.

White sugar is a controversial ingredient that is often avoided by vegans due to being processed with bone char.

Artifical colorings are also avoided due to the unethical treatment of animals during animal testing.

Does Smart Start Contain Dairy

Smart Start cereal does not contain any dairy products.

Does Smart Start Contain Honey

Smart Start cereal by Kellogg’s does contain honey.

Is Smart Start Vegan

What Ingredients Are In Smart Start Cereal

You will find the following ingredients listed on the Smart Start Cereal box.

RICE, WHOLE GRAIN WHEAT, SUGAR, WHOLE GRAIN OATS, BROWN SUGAR SYRUP, CONTAINS 2% OR LESS OF RICE FLOUR, CORN SYRUP, SALT, MALT FLAVOR, HONEY, BARLEY MALT EXTRACT, CINNAMON, NATURAL FLAVOR, MIXED TOCOPHEROLS (VITAMIN E) FOR FRESHNESS. VITAMINS AND MINERALS: VITAMIN C (ASCORBIC ACID), REDUCED IRON, VITAMIN E ACETATE, NIACINAMIDE, VITAMIN B6 (PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE), VITAMIN B1 (THIAMIN HYDROCHLORIDE), FOLIC ACID, VITAMIN B2 (RIBOFLAVIN), BETA-CAROTENE, VITAMIN D3, VITAMIN B12

Are There Any Vegan Smart Start Substitutes

Nature’s Path Cereals

Nature’s Path offers a large variety of delicious vegan products that are made with quality ingredients.

There are various flake-style kinds of cereal like the Mesa Sunrise that would be a great substitute for Smart Start.

Arrowhead Mills

Arrowhead Mills is another great brand that offers a wide variety of vegan-friendly products including breakfast cereals.

Cascadian Farms

Cascadian Farms makes a variety of vegan snacks and breakfast cereals that are easily found in local grocery stores.

Final Thoughts

Unfortunately, Smart Start Cereal is not vegan due to containing honey which is often avoided by vegans.

In addition to honey, you will find white sugar which is a controversial ingredient for many since regular white sugar is often processed using bone char.

The only way to know that your sugar was not processed with bone char is to purchase Certified Organic Sugar.

Even if Smart Start is one of your favorite cereals there are many vegan substitutes that are very similar.

Some common vegan cereal brands include Cascadian Farms, Arrowhead Mills, and Nature’s Path.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Are Cracker Jacks Vegan (Quick Facts)