Is butter vegan

Can Vegans And Vegetarians Eat Butter (Quick Facts)

We all love creamy butter whether it’s on bread, pasta, or in our favorite baked goods but, can vegans and vegetarians eat butter?

Vegans can not eat traditional butter since it is sourced from animals. Some vegetarians may still enjoy regular butter and some may not depending on their diet and lifestyle choices. Luckily, there are many vegan and vegetarian butter now available at your local grocery store.

Can Vegans Eat Butter

Vegans can not eat butter since butter is made from cream that comes from cows.

Why Don’t Vegans Eat Butter

Vegans avoid all animal products including dairy due to the treatment and quality of life that is often found in the animal food industry.

Many people are not aware of the horrendous treatment found in the dairy industry.

Dairy cows are often forcibly impregnated, shot up with growth hormones and medications as well as having their calves taken from them after birth.

The male calves are often sold to the veal industry whereas the females begin their lives as a dairy cows.

Once a female has become too old to produce milk in the volume needed she is sent to slaughter.

Can Vegetarians Eat Butter

Many vegetarians are not aware of how dairy cows are treated even if they have become vegetarian due to their love of animals.

Others have become vegetarians due to health and other reasons beyond animal treatment.

Due to the large variety of reasons why someone has become vegetarian, many vegetarians still consume butter.

Can Vegetarians Eat Bread And Butter

Bread and butter is a staple luckily, the majority of vegetarians can still enjoy bread and butter.

Is butter vegetarian

What Types Of Vegetarians Eat Butter

There are many different categories of vegetarians with about half of them still consuming dairy products and butter.

  • Lacto-Ovo Vegetarians
  • Lacto Vegetarians
  • Plant-Based
  • Flexitarian

Lacto-Ovo Vegetarians

A Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian does not eat meat, poultry, or fish but, still consumes eggs and dairy products.

Lacto Vegetarians

Lacto Vegetarians do not consume meat, poultry, fish, or eggs but, still consume dairy products like butter.


Those that follow a plant-based diet still consume animal products but, only on a rare and minimal basis with plant-based foods like vegetables, fruit, and grains.


Flexitarians enjoy a fairly standard diet but, intentionally eat less meat than what is considered average.

Can You Buy Butter From Cows That Have Been Treated Well

Luckily there are options for those that still want to eat butter but, want to make sure that the animals involved in creating their products are treated well.

There are two great options for those seeking these products.

  • Source local farms and make sure that you agree with their standards and practices
  • Buy products that have been certified by (AGW) A Green World.

Farms that are certified by A Greener World put the treatment and lifestyle of their animals at the forefront.

Does Vegan Butter Exist

Luckily, there has been a tremendous amount of innovation in the food industry in recent years with an increasing amount of vegan products being made to substitute traditionally non-vegan products like butter.

You will find a wide variety of vegan butter options at your local grocery store.

What Is Vegan Butter Made From

Vegan butter is often made from water, plant-based oils like coconut, olive, and avocado as well as flavorings and stabilizers.

Vegan Butter Brands

Does Vegan Butter Taste Like Real Butter

Many people can’t tell the difference between a good vegan butter and the real thing.

That said, although vegan butter is amazing and flavorful some are better than others.

Can You Use Vegan Butter Just Like Regular Butter

You can use most vegan butter just as you would dairy-based butter.

Usually, you can use vegan butter as a dairy butter replacement with a 1:1 ratio.

You do need to be aware that vegan butter is softer overall and there may be different results in your baking or a recipe that is very touchy with texture.

Final Thoughts

Butter is delicious but, is off limits to vegans and some vegetarians due to being a product of the dairy industry.

The dairy industry is known for its inhumane treatment of animals.

There are many vegan butter products now offered for those that would prefer to avoid dairy products.

Even if you are a vegetarian that still consumes animal products there are some products that are produced by farms that focus on the ethical treatment of animals.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Do Vegetarians Eat Cheese?