Are Onion Rings Vegan Or Vegetarian

Are Onion Rings Vegan Or Vegetarian (Quick Facts)

Onion Rings are a fan favorite of many people. I especially love a thin onion ring but, are onion rings suitable for vegans and vegetarians to enjoy?

Onion Rings are often not vegan since they will contain dairy products in the batter but, you can find some recipes that do not use dairy. Another concern to look out for is if the onion rings contain non-vegan sugar. The majority of onion rings would be considered vegetarian.

Are Onion Rings Vegan

Onion Rings are often not vegan since they can contain a variety of non-vegan ingredients.

Vegetarian and Vegan Options At Pop...
Vegetarian and Vegan Options At Popeyes

That said, it is possible to find and make onion rings without animal-based ingredients.

As a vegan you do need to be careful when consuming onion rings, you must check the ingredient list and review it closely.

Are Onion Rings Vegetarian

The majority of vegetarians still consume dairy products making onion rings vegetarian-friendly.

One thing to be aware of for both vegetarians and vegans is the possibility of cross-contamination if you are ordering your onion rings from a restaurant.

Onion rings that are prepared in a restaurant are often fried in the same oil as animal products.

Are Onion Rings Plant-Based

Most people that follow a plant-based diet eat mostly plant-based foods that have had minimal processing.

Although onion rings are made from onions, they are battered and deep fried making them less nutritious than eating an onion that was prepared in a different way like roasted or sauteed.

Someone on a plant-based diet can eat onion rings but, it would only be in moderation, not as a meal or weekly staple.

Do Onion Rings Contain Dairy

Onion rings often contain a variety of dairy-based ingredients.

  • Milk
  • Cream
  • Dry Milk
  • Eggs

Do Onion Rings Contain Egg

Sometimes egg can be an ingredient that is used to dredge and batter the onion rings before frying.

Do Onion Rings Contain Milk

Milk and/or dry milk can be used in the batter ingredients for onion rings.

Dry milk is sometimes mixed in with flour and seasonings whereas, wet milk can be used to help adhere the dry batter to the raw onions.

Are Onion Rings Vegan Or Vegetarian

Vegan Frozen Onion Ring Brands

Let’s take a look at the frozen onion rings that you can buy at your local grocery store.

The following brands of frozen onion rings are vegan-friendly.

Questionable Onion Ring Brands

  • Great Value Onion Rings
  • Red Robin Onion Rings
  • Ore-Ida Onion Rings

Why Would Great Value Onion Rings Not Be Vegan

The Great Value Brand of onion rings sold at Walmart contains a variety of questionable ingredients when it comes to your overall health but, there is one ingredient that is most likely not vegan.

The sugar that is included in these onion rings is most likely processed in an unethical manner using bone char.

The majority of vegans would prefer not to consume this product.

Why Would Red Robin Onion Rings Not Be Vegan

The Red Robin Onion Rings are very similar to the Great Value Brand Onion Rings when it comes to their list of questionable and unhealthy ingredients.

Standard white sugar is also found in these onion rings making them a concern for vegans.

I’ve also heard that they have a “fishy” flavor that would be very offputting for vegans.

Why Would Ore-Ida Onion Rings Not Be Vegan

Ore-Ida just like the other two contains sugar which could’ve been produced and processed with bone char.

Frozen Onion Rings That Are Not Vegan

  • Market Pantry Onion Rings (Target)
  • Nathans Onion Rings

Final Thoughts

Onion Rings are one of those interesting foods where they are often not vegan-friendly but, can be.

You have to look closely at the ingredient list and may find a variety of dairy products including milk, dry milk, dry eggs, and whey.

In addition to dairy products, sugar will often be included.

Sugar is a questionable ingredient for most vegans since it can be processed using bone char from animals.

Regardless, there are vegan onion rings available at your local grocery store to enjoy.

Some of the most often found brands include Alexia, 365 Brand, and Ian’s.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Is SkinnyPop Vegan Or Vegetarian? (Quick Facts)