Are KFC Biscuits Vegan

Are KFC Biscuits Vegan (Quick Facts)

The biscuits at KFC are just about as famous as its fried chicken but, are KFC biscuits vegan?

The biscuits offered at KFC are not vegan due to containing many dairy products dairy by-products and natural flavors. It can be hard to determine if natural flavors are vegan. Natural flavors may contain animal-based products without them being indicated within the ingredients.

Can Vegans Eat KFC Biscuits

Unfortunately, the biscuits at KFC are not safe for vegans to eat.

Why Aren’t KFC Biscuits Vegan

The famous biscuits at KFC contain many dairy products as well as natural flavors which can be questionable.

What Ingredients Are In KFC Biscuits

You will find the following ingredient in the biscuits at KFC.

Enriched Flour Bleached (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Water, Palm Oil, Palm Kernel Oil, Buttermilk, Sugar, Baking Soda, Salt, Sodium Aluminum Phosphate, Nonfat Milk, Sodium Caseinate, Datem, Whey Protein Concentrate, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Whey, Wheat Protein Isolate, Natural Flavor. Liquid And Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Contains Less Than 2% Of Salt, Sunflower Lecithin, Natural Flavor, Beta Carotene (Color).

Are KFC Biscuts Vegan

Do KFC Biscuits Contain Dairy

The biscuits at KFC contain a variety of dairy products including.

  • Buttermilk
  • Nonfat Milk
  • Sodium Caseinate
  • Whey Protein Concentrate

What Is Sodium Caseinate

Sodium caseinate is a protein that is found in milk.

What Is Whey Protein Concentrate

Whey protein concentrate is a by-product of the cheese-making process that results in a mixture of proteins that are used in various foods.

Has KFC Changed Their Biscuit Recipe

The biscuit recipe at KFC has changed through the years as some ingredients have become more cost-effective to include.

Unfortunately, this is the case with many foods.

Once cheap hydrogenated oil was available many companies started to replace more expensive fats with this cheaper oil.

The biscuits at FC are no exception.

Unfortunately, ingredients like hydrogenated oil are usually unhealthy and taste different.

Vegan Side Dishes At KFC

Although the biscuits at KFC are not vegan, there are some vegan side dishes to choose from.

  • Special Recipe Fries (possible cross-contamination)
  • Corn (without butter)
  • Green Beans
  • Baked Beans
  • House Salad (no croutons, choose a vegan dressing)
  • Apple Sauce

Final Thoughts

The biscuits at KFC are a classic staple but, unfortunately, they are not vegan-friendly.

FC biscuits contain a multitude of dairy products making them off-limits to those who avoid dairy like vegans.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Are KFC Mashed Potatoes Vegan