The creamy mashed potatoes at KFC are a long-lasting menu staple but, are KFC mashed potatoes vegan?
The mashed potatoes at KFC are not vegan-friendly due to their containing whey products. Whey products are animal sourced and are off-limits to those who follow a vegan diet.
Table of Contents
Can Vegans Eat The Mashed Potatoes At KFC
Unfortunately, vegans can not eat mashed potatoes at KFC because they contain various dairy products.
Why Aren’t The Mashed Potatoes At KFC Vegan
The mashed potatoes at KFC contain whey products that are animal sourced.
Any ingredient that is animal sourced or has harmed animals is off-limits to vegans.
The mashed potatoes at KFC also contain natural flavors and natural colors which are questionable ingredients.
It can be hard to determine exactly what is in the natural flavorings and colors.
Sometimes these can include ingredients from animals.
What Ingredients Are In The Mashed Potatoes At KFC
You will find the following ingredients in the mashed potatoes at KFC.
Potatoes, Whey Product (Containing: Whey Solids, Nonfat Milk, Sodium Caseinate, Calcium Stearoyl-2-Lactylate), Salt, mono and Diglycerides, Calcium Stearoyl-2-Lactylate, Sodium Bisulfate, natural Flavors, Natural Colors, Citric Acid, and Spice.
Do KFC Mashed Potatoes Contain Dairy
The mashed potatoes at KFC contain dairy as a whey product.
The whey product contains whey solids, nonfat milk, sodium caseinate, and calcium stearoyl-2-lactylate.
Has KFC Changed Their Mashed Potato Recipe
Throughout the years KFC has changed its recipes due to many reasons.
The mashed potato recipe is not the same as when the restaurant first opened but, it has been around for a long time.
Vegan Side Dishes At KFC
Although the mashed potatoes at KFC are not vegan, KFC does have a small selection of vegan side dishes.
- Special Recipe Fries (possible cross-contamination)
- Corn (without butter)
- Green Beans
- Baked Beans
- House Salad (no croutons, choose a vegan dressing)
- Apple Sauce
The mashed potatoes at KFC are a customer favorite but, unfortunately, they are not vegan-friendly.
KFC mashed potatoes contain a variety of dairy products making them off-limits to vegans.