I don’t think I’ve had a Fruit Roll-Up in years but, these fun and unforgettable sweet snacks are iconic but, are they vegan or vegetarian?
Table of Contents
Are Fruit Roll-Ups Vegan
Although, Fruit Roll-Ups have a chewy texture that often indicates a product isn’t vegan, Fruit Roll-Ups on the other hand are vegan-friendly.
You do need to be aware that there are some questionable ingredients that some vegans will choose to avoid.
Are Fruit Roll-Ups Vegetarian
Fruit Roll-Ups are a vegetarian-friendly snack that is safe for vegetarians to enjoy.
Why Wouldn’t Fruit Roll-Ups Be Vegan Or Vegetarian?
Many snack foods especially those with a chewy texture can contain animal-derived ingredients or food colorings making them off limits to vegans and vegetarians.
Do Fruit Roll-Ups Contain Gelatin
My first thought was Fruit Roll-Ups must contain gelatin since they have a distinct and chewy texture but, I was wrong.
You will not find any gelatin in Fruit Roll-Ups.
Do Fruit Roll-Ups Contain Pork
Many products can have pork hiding within the ingredients, Fruit Roll-Ups do not contain any pork products.
Do Fruit Roll-Ups Contain Dairy
Sometimes you may be surprised when you discover dairy products listed in the ingredients for some foods.
Luckily, Fruit Roll-Ups do not contain any dairy products.
Do Fruit Roll-Ups Contain Food Coloring Red 4
The food coloring Red 4 is sourced from animals making it not a vegan or vegetarian ingredient.
Whenever you see a food product that is artificially colored red we do need to see if Red 4 or carmine is listed under the ingredients.
Fruit Roll-Ups do not contain Red 4 or Carmine, they contain vegan and vegetarian-friendly Red 40 instead.
What Ingredients Are Found In Fruit Roll-Ups
You will find the following ingredients in classic Fruit Roll-Ups.
Corn Syrup, Sugar, Pear Puree, Maltodextrin, Palm and/or Palm Kernel Oil. Contains 2 % or less of: Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, Monoglycerides, Fruit Pectin, Malic Acid, Vitamin C (ascorbic acid), Natural Flavor, Color (red 40, yellows 5 & 6, blue 1).
Do Fruit Roll-Ups Have Any Questionable Ingredients
Although, Fruit Roll-Ups are vegan and vegetarian there are some questionable ingredients that some may avoid.
- Corn Syrup
- Palm Oil
- Natural Flavors
- Food Colorings
Why Is Corn Syrup A Questionable Ingredient In Fruit Roll-Ups
Corn Syrup is included in so many foods but, is a concern because it is often made with genetically modified corn that is heavily sprayed with pesticides.
Why Is Sugar A Questionable Ingredient In Fruit Roll-Ups
Sugar is an interesting ingredient, many do not know that white table sugar is often treated and processed with bone char from animals.
In addition to the questionable bone char, white sugar often comes from sugar beets which just like the corn in corn syrup is genetically modified and highly sprayed with pesticides.
Why Is Palm Oil A Questionable Ingredient In Fruit Roll-Ups
Palm Oil is a questionable ingredient due to the impacts of farming palm trees for oil.
Palm farms negatively impact the environment and the habitats surrounding them.
Why Are Natural Flavorings A Questionable Ingredient In Fruit Roll-Ups
Natural Flavorings are questionable because we often are not exactly sure where they came from.
Often natural flavorings are sourced from sketchy resources.
Why Are Food Colorings A Questionable Ingredient In Fruit Roll-Ups
Besides Red 4 and carmine, food colorings are a concern for many due to the negative health and behavioral effects.
Are Strawberry Fruit Roll-Ups Vegan
Strawberry-flavored candy and snacks can often contain food colorings that are not vegan or vegetarian.
Strawberry flavored Fruit Roll-Ups are vegan.
Are Strawberry Fruit Roll-Ups Vegetarian
Strawberry Fruit Roll-Ups do not contain any animal products making them vegetarian-friendly.
Are Jolly Rancher Fruit Roll-Ups Vegan
A mixture of Jolly Rancher flavors with a classic Fruit Roll-Up.
Jolly Rancher Fruit Roll-Ups are vegan-friendly.
Are Jolly Rancher Fruit Roll-Ups Vegetarian
Jolly Rancher Fruit Roll-Ups are safe for vegetarians to enjoy.
Are Sour Fruit Roll-Ups Vegan
If you love sour candy, a Sour Fruit Roll-Up may be for you.
Sour Fruit Roll-Ups are vegan.
Are Sour Fruit Roll-Ups Vegetarian
Sour Fruit Roll-Ups do not contain any animal products making them vegetarian-friendly.
Fruit Roll-Ups are a classic snack that has been around for decades.
At first glance Fruit Roll-Ups do not appear vegan or vegetarian but, much to my surprise, they are vegan and vegetarian-friendly.