Are Nerds Candy Vegan

Are Nerds Vegan Or Vegetarian (Quick Facts)

Nerds are fun little morsels of candy with a hard and crunchy exterior and a sweet but tart center. They are a nice treat but, are Nerds candy vegan or vegetarian?

Some flavors of Nerds Candy are safe for vegans and vegetarians to enjoy. Others like the pink strawberry flavor contain animal-sourced ingredients and are not vegan or vegetarian. You may also discover other questionable ingredients that you would want to avoid.

Are Nerds Vegan

The majority of the classic Nerds candy is vegan but, it can be very tricky because the pink strawberry-flavored Nerds candy that is often mixed with the other flavors is not vegan-friendly.

Are Nerds Vegetarian

All of the classic Nerds flavors are vegetarian except for the pink strawberry-flavored Nerds.

Why Wouldn’t Nerds Be Vegan Or Vegetarian?

Many candies including nerds often contain a variety of ingredients like gelatin and food colorings that are sourced from animals.

In addition to the animal-sourced ingredients, there are also ingredients that are questionable as to if they are vegan and impactful on the environment and animal habitats.

Why Aren’t Strawberry Nerds Vegan Or Vegetarian

The pretty pink strawberry Nerds candy contains an ingredient that is called Carmine.

Carmine is used as a “natural” food coloring.

AS crazy as it sounds, Carmine comes from dried and crushed-up bugs.

Do Nerds Contain Food Coloring Red 4

The packaging may not note Red 4 as a food coloring but, the strawberry-flavored Nerds contain carmine which is the animal-sourced ingredient used in Red 4.

Do Nerds Contain Gelatin

The classic tangy and crunchy Nerds candy does not contain gelatin.

Do Nerds Contain Pork

If a candy contains gelatin it can be impossible to determine if the gelatin was sourced from pigs or cows.

Luckily, Nerds candy does not contain any gelatin or pork.

Do Nerds Contain Dairy

Some candy can have dairy products lurking and hiding within the ingredient list, Nerds Candy is not one of the products.

Nerds Candy does not contain dairy.

You do need to be aware that the package does say the product may contain eggs.

Nerds Candy is produced in a facility where eggs are used in other products, there could be trace amounts of egg in Nerd Candy.

Are Nerds Candy Vegetarian

What Ingredients Are In Nerds Candy

The ingredients found in Nerds Candy will vary depending on the flavor you choose.

Many packages of Nerds contain a variety of flavors.

The Rainbow Pack of Nerds contains strawberry, grape, lemonade, orange, and watermelon.

  • Dextrose
  • Sugar
  • Malic Acid
  • Corn Syrup
  • Natural Flavors
  • Carnuba Wax
  • Carmine (strawberry flavor)
  • Blue 1
  • Blue 1 Lake
  • Blue 2 Lake
  • Red 40 Lake
  • Yellow 5
  • Yellow 5 Lake
  • Yellow 8

Do Nerds Candy Contain Questionable Ingredients

Even though some flavors of Nerds Candy are technically vegan there are some questionable ingredients that vegans and vegetarians may choose to avoid.

  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Carnuba Wax
  • Food Colorings

Why Is Sugar A Questionable Ingredient In Nerds Candy

Many are not aware that white sugar can be processed using bone char from animals making it a concerning ingredient for vegans and some vegetarians.

Sugar also is often sourced from sugar beets that are genetically modified and heavily sprayed with pesticides.

Why Is Corn Syrup A Questionable Ingredient In Nerds Candy

Corn Syrup just like sugar is sourced from genetically modified crops that are heavily sprayed with pesticides.

Why Is Carnauba Wax A Questionable Ingredient In Nerds Candy

Carnauba Wax is a questionable ingredient because it comes from palm trees that are grown on palm farms.

These farms are extremely impactful on the environment and the animal habitats that surround them.

Why Are Food Colorings A Questionable Ingredient In Nerds Candy

We already discussed the red food coloring carmine that is made from bugs but, even the non-animal sourced foods colorings are a concern.

Many food colorings are petroleum, tar, or coal-based.

In addition to how they are made they have been tied to a number of health concerns especially behavioral issues in children.

Are Big Chewy Nerds Vegan

Big Chewy Nerds in addition to Big Chewy Sour Nerds are both vegan-friendly.

Are Big Chewy Nerds Vegetarian

The regular Big Chewy Nerds and Big Chewy Sour Nerds are both safe for vegetarians to enjoy.

Are Nerds Gummy Clusters Vegan

Nerds Gummy Clusters are not vegan since they contain gelatin and carmine.

Are Nerds Gummy Clusters Vegetarian

Unfortunately, Nerds Gummy Clusters are not vegan since they contain both gelatin and carmine.

Are Nerds Ropes Vegan

Nerd Ropes contain a variety of nonvegan ingredients including gelatin, carmine, and questionable confectioners glaze.

Are Nerds Ropes Vegetarian

Nerd Ropes contain non-vegetarian ingredients gelatin, carmine and confectioners glaze.

Final Thoughts

Nerds are a classic candy from my childhood.

There was always something fun and enjoyable about popping some of those little sweet, tart, and crunchy candies in your mouth.

I remember ordering Nerds Blizzards at Dairy Queen with an odd mixture of vanilla soft serve ice cream with tart Nerds candy.

Only a dessert a child would adore.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Are Ring Pops Vegan Or Vegetarian (Quick Facts)