Are M&M's Vegan Or Vegetarian

Are M&M’s Vegan Or Vegetarian (Quick Facts & M&M Guide)

M&M’s are a popular candy for good reason but, are M&M’s vegan or vegetarian?

M&M’s are not vegan due to contain dairy products within the chocolate that they are so famous for. Vegetarians on the other hand can enjoy M&M’s as long as they can consume dairy. Although, M&M’s aren’t vegan there are many wonderful vegan alternatives.

Are M&M’s Vegan

Unfortunately, M&M’s are not vegan since they contain milk chocolate which contains ingredients sourced from animals.

Vegetarian and Vegan Options At Pop...
Vegetarian and Vegan Options At Popeyes

Luckily, there are many vegan alternatives to classic M&M’s if you love this little candy-coated bite of chocolate.

I’ve noted the best vegan M&M alternatives down below.

Are M&M’s Vegetarian

As long as you are a vegetarian that still consumes dairy, M&M’s are safe for vegetarians to enjoy.

Are M&M’s Vegan Or Vegetarian In The UK

I do need to mention how very different the ingredients can be in products from country to country.

The M&M’s that are sold in the UK contain a couple of animal-sourced ingredients the US version doesn’t.

In the UK you will find carmine as artificial coloring and beeswax as a coating.

Why Wouldn’t M&M’s Be Vegan Or Vegetarian

There are a variety of animal-sourced ingredients that can be found in candy like M&M’s from dairy, gelatin, and animal-based food colorings.

Do M&M’s Contain Dairy

The milk chocolate that is used in M&M’s contains dairy products.

You will find the following dairy products in M&M candies.

  • Skim Milk
  • Lactose
  • Milk Fat

Do M&M’s Contain Gelatin

M&M’s do not contain any gelatin.

Gelatin is often used in gummy candy and marshmallows to give them that distinct texture and hold together liquids.

Can Vegetarians Eat Gelatin?

Do M&M’s Contain Pork

If a candy contains gelatin (which M&M’s does not), it is possible for that gelatin to be scored from either cows or pigs.

M&M candies do not contain any gelatin.

Do M&M’s Contain Food Coloring Red 4

Although you will find red food coloring listed as an ingredient in M&M’s, you will not find the animal-based color Red 4.

M&M’s contain other non-animal-based food colorings including red 40.

Do M&M’s Contain Carmine

Carmine is an animal-based ingredient that is often used to create a red coloring within foods.

M&M’s does not contain carmine in the United States.

You do need to be aware that you may find carmine listed in the ingredients within the United Kingdom.

What Ingredients Are In M&M’s

Your classic Milk Chocolate M&M’s contain the following ingredients.

  • MILK CHOCOLATE (SUGAR, CHOCOLATE, SKIM MILK, COCOA BUTTER, LACTOSE, MILKFAT, SOY LECITHIN, SALT, NATURAL FLAVOR)
  • SUGAR
  • CORNSTARCH
  • CORN SYRUP
  • DEXTRIN
  • BLUE 2 LAKE
  • BLUE 1 LAKE
  • YELLOW 5
  • YELLOW 6
  • YELLOW 6 LAKE
  • RED 40
  • RED 40 LAKE
  • BLUE 1
  • YELLOW 5 LAKE
  • BLUE 2
  • CARNAUBA WAX
  • GUM ACACIA. 

Are There Any Vegan M&M Alternatives

Luckily, for vegans there are many vegan alternatives to your classic M&M’s candy.

Vegan M&M Alternatives

Are M&M's vegan or vegetarian

Are Peanut M&M’s Vegan

Just like the classic M&M’s our often favorite Peanut M&M’s are not vegan since they contain dairy products in the chocolate.

Are Peanut M&M’s Vegetarian

Peanut M&M’s are safe for vegetarians to enjoy.

Are Fudge Brownie M&M’s Vegan

Fudge Brownie sounds delicious but, unfortunately, Fudge Brownie M&M’s contain dairy products making them not vegan-friendly.

Are Fudge Brownie M&M’s Vegetarian

Fudge Brownie M&M’s are vegetarian but, you do need to be aware that there is a long list of ingredients required to make Fudge Brownie M&M’s, and some of the ingredients are questionable for some like hydrogenated oil.

Are Dark Mint Chocolate M&M’s Vegan

Who doesn’t love the combination of mint and chocolate?

Unfortunately, due to the dairy products within Dark Mint Chocolate M&M’s they are not vegan.

Are Dark Mint Chocolate M&M’s Vegetarian

Dark Mint Chocolate M&M’s are safe for vegetarians to enjoy!

Are M&M’s Caramel Chocolate Vegan

Caramel is often not vegan since it is made with cream and sugar.

The Caramel Chocolate M&M’s are not vegan since they contain dairy products.

Are M&M’s Caramel Chocolate Vegetarian

Caramel Chocolate M&M’s are safe for vegetarians.

Please be aware that M&M’s Caramel Chocolate does contain less than ideal ingredients like hydrogenated oil at this time.

Are M&M’s Chocolate Pretzel Flavor Vegan

A sweet and salty combination of chocolate and pretzels is perfection for many but, unfortunately, M&M’s Chocolate Pretzel flavored M&M’s contain dairy products making them not vegan.

Are M&M’s Chocolate Pretzel Flavor Vegetarian

M&M’s Chocolate Pretzel Flavor is vegetarian.

Are Peanut Butter M&M’s Vegan

Whoever came up with the combination of peanut butter and chocolate nailed it.

Unfortunately, Peanut Butter M&M’s are not vegan since they contain dairy products within the chocolate.

Are Peanut Butter M&M’s Vegetarian

Peanut Butter M&M’s are safe for vegetarians to indulge in.

Are Almond M&M’s Vegan

Almond M&M’s are a little more fancy compared to its cousin the Peanut M&M but, unfortunately, the Almond M&M’s are not vegan due to containing dairy within the chocolate.

Are Almond M&M’s Vegetarian

Almond M&M’s are safe for vegetarians to enjoy.

Are M&M Minis Vegan

Sometimes you will discover that when a product is made in a different size or variation the ingredients will be different.

Unfortunately, M&M Minis still contain dairy products making them not vegan.

Are M&M Minis Vegetarian

My kids adore these little miniature M&M’s luckily, they are vegetarian-friendly.

Are Dark Chocolate Peanut M&M’s Vegan

A delicious peanut version for dark chocolate lovers.

Unfortunately, the Dark Chocolate Peanut M&M’s are not vegan since the chocolate contains dairy.

Are Dark Chocolate Peanut M&M’s Vegetarian

The Dark Chocolate Peanut M&M’s are vegetarian.

Do M&M’s Contain Questionable Ingredients

Beyond the non-vegan ingredients found within M&M’s candy, there are additional ingredients that may be of concern for some.

Some of these questionable ingredients include.

  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Natural Flavors
  • Carnauba Wax

Why Is Sugar A Questionable Ingredient In M&M’s

All candy requires some sort of sweetener but, white sugar is a concern for many for a variety of reasons.

White sugar is often processed with bone char making it a questionable ingredient for most vegans to consume.

In addition to the bone char, white sugar often comes from genetically modified sugar beets that are highly sprayed with pesticides.

Why Is Corn Syrup A Questionable Ingredient Found in M&M’s

Corn Syrup much like sugar comes from a genetically modified crop of corn that is highly sprayed with pesticides.

Why Are Natural Flavors A Questionable Ingredient Found In M&M’s

Natural flavors are often sourced from sketchy places and ingredients making it hard to determine exactly what is included in our food.

Natural vanilla flavoring doesn’t always come from vanilla beans, it can sometimes come from the anal glands of beavers (no joke).

Why Is Carnauba Wax A Questionable Ingredient Found In M&M’s

Carnauba wax is harvested from palm trees which sounds great in the beginning.

Some may be concerned with consuming carnauba wax because the farming industry that created this product is an environmental concern as well as a cause of destruction to animal habitats.

Final Thoughts

M&M’s are fun and delicious even though they are not vegan there are many great vegan alternatives that can be enjoyed.

Even if you are vegetarian that still eats dairy, I suggest trying some of the other options like the Unreal brand cansies that have better quality ingredients.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Are Nerds Vegan Or Vegetarian (Quick Facts)