Are Cracker Jacks Vegan

Are Cracker Jacks Vegan (Quick Facts)

Cracker Jacks are a nostalgic snack whether you are at a baseball game or a movie but, are Cracker Jacks vegan?

The classic caramel Cracker Jacks are not made with real caramel making them vegan-friendly. You do need to be aware of other popcorn flavors sold by Cracker Jack that contain questionable ingredients that most vegans would avoid consuming.

Can Vegans Eat Cracker Jacks

Vegans can enjoy the Classic Caramel Cracker Jacks but, the Birthday Cake Popcorn and Holiday Sugar Cookie flavors contain questionable ingredients sourced from animals making them not vegan.

Why Wouldn’t Cracker Jacks Be Vegan

Vegetarian and Vegan Options At Pop...
Vegetarian and Vegan Options At Popeyes

Although Cracker Jacks are vegan they do contain white sugar which is a questionable ingredient for many.

White sugar is often processed using bone char from animals making it off-limits to some vegans.

The only way to ensure that your sugar has not been processed with bone char to is purchase only certified organic sugar.

Do Cracker Jacks Contain Dairy

None, of the current Cracker Jacks flavors, contain dairy products.

Do Cracker Jacks Contain Honey

Although Cracker Jacks have that distinct caramel and honey flavor, they do not contain honey.

Do Cracker Jacks Contain Real Caramel

Cracker Jacks are not made with real caramel which is why Cracker Jacks are still vegan.

Real Caramel is not vegan and is made with butter, sugar, and cream.

What Are Crackers Jacks Made Of

The classic caramel Cracker Jacks that we all know and love contain the following ingredients.

Sugar, Corn Syrup, Popcorn, Peanuts, Molasses, Salt, Corn and/or Soybean Oil, and Soy Lecithin.

Are Original Cracker Jacks Vegan

The original caramel-flavored Cracker Jacks are vegan.

You need to be aware that Cracker Jacks are made with white sugar which can be processed using bone char.

As a vegan, it is up to you to determine if you are going to consume white sugar or not.

Are Cracker Jacks Vegan

Are Birthday Cake Cracker Jacks Vegan

At first glance it may appear as if the Birthday Cake Flavored popcorn made by Cracker Jack is vegan but, in reality, it is not.

Besides containing various questionable ingredients like white sugar (processed with bone char) and artificial colorings (animal tested), the Birthday Cake Flavor contains confectioners glaze.

Confectioners glaze sounds harmless but, is often sourced from bugs making it not vegan.

What Are The Ingredients In Cracker Jack Birthday Cake Popcorn

Corn Syrup, Sugar, Popcorn, Canola Oil, Corn Starch, Salt, Artificial Color (red 3, Red 40, Blue 1, Yellow 6, Blue 2), Soy Lecithin, Confectioner’s Glaze, Carnauba Wax, Natural And Artificial Flavors, Rosemary Extract (antioxidant), And Ascorbic Acid (antioxidant).

Are Holiday Sugar Cookie Cracker Jacks Vegan

Unfortunately, the Holiday Sugar Cookie Crackers Jacks are not vegan due to containing questionable ingredients like white sugar, artificial colorings and confectioners glaze.

What Are The Ingredients In Holiday Sugar Cookie Cracker Jacks

Corn Syrup, Sugar, Popcorn, Canola Oil, Corn Starch, Salt, Artificial Color (Yellow 5, Red 3, Blue 1, Red 40, Yellow 6, Blue 2), Soy Lecithin, Confectioner’s Glaze, Carnauba Wax, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Rosemary Extract (Antioxidant), and Ascorbic Acid

Final Thoughts

I love Cracker Jacks although, I feel like they came with much better “prizes” when I was a kid.

Luckily, for those who love the nostalgic experience of enjoying a box of Cracker Jacks at a baseball game you are safe to enjoy regardless if you are a vegan or not.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Are Combos Vegan (Quick Facts)