Are Betty Crocker Brownies Vegan

Are Betty Crocker Brownies Vegan (Quick Facts)

Most of us love a warm and delicious brownie hot out of the oven but, are Betty Crocker Brownies vegan?

Betty Crocker offers a variety of boxed brownie mixes that are perfect for a quick pan of warm brownies. Some of Betty Crocker’s brownie mixes like the original are vegan-friendly when made with modifications. Others like the salted caramel flavor already contain dairy products making it not vegan.

Are Betty Crocker Brownie Mixes Vegan

Some Betty Crocker Brownie Mixes are vegan before they are prepared and others are not.

Vegan Oreo Cupcakes | Vegan Oreo Cu...
Vegan Oreo Cupcakes | Vegan Oreo Cupcakes Recipe | Classic Bakes

The directions included on each box of brownie mix does require the addition of non-vegan ingredients but, there are vegan substitutes that can be used instead.

Vegan-Friendly Betty Crocker Brownie Mixes.

  • Original
  • Dark Chocolate
  • Supreme Chocolate Chunk
  • Supreme Original
  • Supreme Triple Chunk

Why Wouldn’t Betty Crocker Brownie Mix Be Vegan

Most regular boxed brownie mixes will require the addition of eggs before baking but, some mixes already include non-vegan ingredients.

You may find some of the following non-vegan ingredients in brownie mix.

  • Milk
  • Skim Milk
  • Butter Milk
  • Butter

Questionable Ingredients In Brownie Mix

You will find white sugar listed on the ingredients in most boxed brownie mixes like those offered by Betty Crocker.

White sugar is a controversial ingredient and is avoided by many vegans due to the possibility that the sugar was processed using bone char from animals.

Is Betty Crocker Brownie Mix Dairy Free

Not all of the brownie mixes offered by Betty Crocker are dairy free.

Only the following Betty Crocker Brownie Mixes do not contain dairy.

  • Original
  • Dark Chocolate
  • Supreme Chocolate Chunk
  • Supreme Original
  • Supreme Triple Chunk

Do Betty Crocker Brownie Mixes Need Eggs

In order to prepare Betty Crocker Brownies as noted on the box, the recipe does require the addition of eggs before baking.

Luckily, there are many other vegan substitutes that you can use to keep your brownies vegan.

What Ingredients Are In Betty Crocker Brownies

The classic Betty Crocker Fudge Brownie Mix contains the following ingredients.

Sugar, Enriched Flour Bleached (wheat flour, niacin, iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), Cocoa Processed with Alkali, Palm Oil. Contains 2% or less of: Corn Syrup, Carob Powder, Corn Starch, Salt, Canola Oil, and Artificial Flavor.

Are Betty Crocker Brownies Vegan

Are Betty Crocker Dark Chocolate Brownies Vegan

The Betty Crocker Dark Chocolate Brownie mix is vegan alone but, would require eggs or a vegan substitute when preparing.

Is Betty Crocker Supreme Chocolate Chunk Brownie Mix Vegan

Surprisingly, the Supreme Chocolate Chunk Brownie mix by Betty Crocker is vegan even though it contains chocolate chunks.

You do need to be aware that the brownies require eggs or a vegan substitute added before baking.

Are Betty Crocker Supreme Fudge Brownies Vegan

The Betty Crocker Supreme Fudge Brownie Mix is not vegan due to its containing a variety of dairy products.

Is Betty Crocker Milk Chocolate Brownie Mix Vegan

Betty Crocker Milk Chocolate Brownie Mix is not vegan do to its containing milk.

Is Betty Crocker Supreme Original Brownie Mix Vegan

Betty Crocker Supreme Original Brownie Mix is vegan.

You will need to add an egg substitute before baking.

Is Betty Crocker Salted Caramel Brownie Mix Vegan

The Salted Caramel Flavored Brownie Mix made by Betty Crocker is not vegan-friendly since it contains dairy products.

Is Betty Crocker Supreme Triple Chunk Brownie Mix Vegan

Betty Crocker Supreme Triple Chunk Brownie Mix is vegan.

Can I Make Betty Crocker Brownies Vegan

You can make a box of Betty Crocker Brownies vegan by swapping out the eggs during preparation with one of many vegan swaps.

How Can I Make Betty Crocker Brownies Vegan

There are plenty of vegan egg substitutes that you can use when making brownies from a boxed mix.

Some of the most common substitutes are.

  • Flax eggs (1 tablespoon of ground flax plus 3 tablespoons of water per egg)
  • Mashed Banana (1/2 medium banana per egg)
  • Applesauce (1/4 cup per egg)
  • Black Bean Puree (1/4 cup per egg)
  • Silken Tofu (1/4 cup per egg)

Vegan-Friendly Brownie Mixes

If you would prefer to buy a vegan brownie mix instead of modifying a Betty Crocker Brownie mix there are plenty of options.

Final Thoughts

Brownies are always a fan favorite and Betty Crocker is a classic.

Luckily many of the brownie mixes that are offered by Betty Crocker are vegan-friendly with some modifications.

You do need to be careful and look closely at the ingredients because there are some mixes that contain dairy products making them not vegan.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Are Three Musketeers Vegan (Quick Facts)