Can vegetarians eat rice krispie treats

Can Vegetarians Eat Rice Krispie Treats

Who doesn’t love a sweet and sticky gooey Rice Krispie Treat? As a vegetarian or vegan can we enjoy this classic sweet?

Many Rice Krispie Treats contain marshmallow which is made with gelatin, an animal by-product making most Treats not vegetarian or vegan. Luckily, there are some treats that are accidentally vegan or created intentionally for those who do not consume animal products.

Are Rice Krispie Treats Vegetarian

Rice Krispie Treats that contain animal products like gelatin are not suitable for vegetarians.

You can find some flavors and brands that make crispy treats that do not contain animal products.

Unfortunately with rice crispy treats, you will need to look closely at the ingredient list.

Can Vegans Eat Rice Krispie Treats

The majority of Kelloggs Rice Krispie Treats contain animal products making them not vegan friendly.

It is possible to find some flavors that don’t contain animal products or vegan-friendly crispy treat brands.

Do Rice Krispie Treats Contain Gelatin

The majority of Rice Krispie Treats are made with marshmallows that contain gelatin.

What Is Gelatin

Gelatin is an animal-based protein that is created by boiling animal parts like skin, bones, tendons, and ligaments.

What Kind Of Gelatin Is In Rice Krispie Treats

The gelatin in Rice Krispie treats is most likely from cows or pigs.

Are Rice Krispie Treats Original Flavor Vegetarian

The Orginal Flavor prepackaged Rice Krispie treats are not vegetarian since they contain gelatin.

Are Rice Krispie Treats Orginal Flavor Vegan

The classic Original Flave prepacked Rice Krispie Treats made by Kellogs are not vegan since they contain gelatin.

Are Rice Krispie Treats Vegan

Are Rice Krispie Cookies And Cream Treats Vegetarian

The Cookies Ans Creamed Flavored Rice Krispy treats made by Kellogs are not vegetarian since they contain gelatin.

Are Rice Krispie Cookies And Cream Treats Vegan

Who doesn’t love Cookies And Cream, unfortunately, these flavored Rice Krispie treats premade by Kellogs are not vegan since they contain gelatin.

Are Birthday Cake Rice Krispie Treats Vegetarian

A fun Birthday Cake flavor with colored sprinkles is sure to catch your eye but, this flavor Rice Krispie Treat is not vegetarian since it contains gelatin.

Are Birthday Cake Rice Krispie Treats Vegan

Unfortunately, the premade birthday cake flavored Rice Krispie Treats are not vegan due to the inclusion of vegan.

Are Strawberry Rice Krispie Treats Vegetarian

The Strawberry Flavored Rice Krispy Treats made by Kellogs are not vegetarian since they contain gelatin.

Are Strawberry Rice Krispie Treats Vegan

Kellog’s prepacked Strawberry Rice Krispie Treats are not vegan since they contain gelatin.

Are The Rice Krispie Treats With M & M’s Vegetarian

The fun Krispy Treats with colorful M&M’s are not vegetarian since they contain gelatin.

Are The Rice Krispie Treats With M & M’s Vegan

The M&M Flavored Rice Krispie Treats are not vegan since they contain gelatin.

Are Rice Krispie Mini Squares Vegatarian

The original flavored Rice Krispy Mini Squares are not vegetarian since they contain gelatin.

Are Rice Krispie Mini Squares Vegan

The small bite-sized Rice Krispie Treats are not vegan friendly since they contain gelatin.

Are Rice Krispie Mini Squares Seasonal The Same As The Original Squares

The Rice Krispie Mini Squares the are sold in the cute seasonal packaging are the same exact product as the regular mini squares.

Both the regular mini squares and seasonal mini squares are not vegetarian or vegan friendly.

Are The Rice Krispie Homestyle Bars Vegetarian

The larger-sized bars with writable wrappers are not vegetarian since they also contain gelatin.

Are Rice Krispie Homestyle Bars Vegan

Rice Krispie Homestyle Bars are not vegan since they contain gelatin.

Are Rice Krispie Homestyle Chocolate Bars Vegetarian

The Rice Krispie Brand Homestyle Chocolate Treats are not vegetarian since they contain gelatin.

Are Rice Krispie Homestyle Chocolate Bars Vegan

The large chocolate and gooey Krispie Treat Bars are not vegan since they contain gelatin.

Are Rice Krispie Treat Sheets Vegetarian

The large Treat Sheets are not vegetarian since they contain gelatin.

Are Rice Krispie Treat Sheets Vegan

The large party-sized sheets ideal for baking creations are not vegan since they contain gelatin.

Does The Rice Krispie Brand Carry Any Vegetarian Or Vegan Treats

The only flavor of Rice Krispie treats that I have found that are vegetarian and vegan friendly is the Caramel Chocolate Chunk.

Are any rice krispie treats vegan

Rice Krispie Treats That Are Vegetarian

Rice Krispie Treats That Are Vegan

What Are The Ingredients In Rice Krispie Treats

The Original Prepackaged Flavor of Rice Krispie Treats contains the following ingredients.

  • Toasted Rice Cereal
  • Corn Syrup
  • Frutose
  • Vegetable Oil
  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup Solids
  • Vegetable Glycerin
  • Dextrose
  • Gelatin
  • Natural Flavors
  • Articfical Flavors
  • Milk
  • Salt
  • DATAM
  • Acetylated Monoglycerides
  • Soy Lecithin
  • BHT for freshness.

Do Kellogs Rice Krispie Treats Have Hydrogenated Oil

This questionable oil has been banned in the United States back in 2018 but, can still be found in many foods.

I discovered that the Birthday Cake Flavor Kellogs Rice Krispie Treats still contain hydrogenated oil.

How To Make Homemade Vegetarian And Vegan Rice Krispy Treats

Making your own vegetarian and vegan rice Krispy treats is very easy and may even bring back some memories from your childhood.

I can remember a day when there weren’t any prepacked Krispy treats sold in stores, with your only opportunity to enjoy a gooey treat is making them at home.

With a few simple ingredients, you can whip up your own batch.

Vegetarian And Vegan Rice Krispie Treat Ingredients

  • 4 Tbs Butter or Plant-Based Butter
  • 10 oz. Vegetarian/Vegan Friendly Marshmellows
  • 5 Cups Rice Cereal
  • 1 1/4 Tsp Vanilla Extract
  • Pinch of Salt

You can easily customize the flavor and decoration of your crispy treats by pressing in any of the following once the treats are in the pan.

  • M&M Candies
  • Rainbow Sprinkles
  • Mini Chocolate Chips
  • Peanut Butter Chips
  • White Choloate Chips
  • Freeze Dried Strawberry Powder (mix into the entire mixture)
  1. Line you baking dish with pacrchment paper so the treats wont stick.
  2. Melt the butter or plant-based butter on the stovetop over medium-low heat until melted.
  3. Add the marshmellowd into the pan with the butter, mix and melt together for about ten minutes.
  4. Once the mixture is melted and had become one add in your vanilla extract.
  5. Mix in the rice cereal and mix completely.
  6. As soon as the mixture is mixed well press it into your pan to cool.

Final Thoughts

Rice Krispie Treats are a childhood classic that most of us have fond memories of, the gooey and sticky treat is made from such simple ingredients but, becomes magical when melted together.

I can remember how disappointed I was when I found out that Krispie Treats and marshmallows were not vegetarian.

Luckily, more companies have been creating vegan and vegetarian-friendly treats and marshmallows so we no longer have to miss out on the sweet nostalgic goodies.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Can Vegetarian Eat Ranch

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *