Is Jello Vegetarian

Can Vegetarians Or Vegans Eat Jello (Quick Facts)

We can all remember having that bowl of jello as a kid, if we were really lucky it would’ve had a dollop of whip cream on top but, can vegetarians or vegans eat jello?

Vegetarians and vegans need to look closely at the ingredients found in jello. Many jello products contain ingredients that are derived from animal sources making it not a vegan or vegetarian food. Luckily you can find a variety of jello products that are.

Is Jello Suitable For Vegetarians

Jello is often not suitable for vegetarians to eat.

Vegan avocado sushi roll #shorts x
Vegan avocado sushi roll #shorts

This classic jiggly treat from our childhoods is one of those foods that seems like it would be vegetarian-friendly but, isn’t due to a sneaky hidden ingredient that many may not be aware of.

Honestly, I went years as a vegetarian unaware of what was in Jello as well as marshmallows and gummy candy.

Jello contains an ingredient called gelatin that is derived from animal sources.

Why Can’t Vegetarians Eat Jello

The gelatin in Jello helps give it it’s well know texture and wiggle.

This product is thicker that helps hold the otherwise liquid ingredients together.

Some are often shocked when they find out what gelatin is, where it comes from and that it’s hidden in many innocent foods like Jello.

Gelatin is made from ground-up animal bones, skin, ligaments, and tendons.

Is There A Vegetarian Jello

Luckily there are alternative ingredients that can be used to create a Jello product and give it a similar look and texture to classic non-vegetarian Jello.

What is Used Instead of Gelatin In Vegetarian Jello

The ingredients most often replacing animal-derived gelatin are agar and vegetable gums.

Agar or Agar-Agar is found in the cell walls of seaweed. It is made into a white powder that is easily used to replace gelatin in recipes.

Another option is vegetable gums, these gums are found in beans and other plants. They are also dried and ground into powders for easy use.

Which Jello Is Vegetarian

There are a variety of vegetarian-friendly jello products on the market to fulfill your jello needs.

If you are looking for the traditional flavored jello dessert the chest options are Bakol Jel Dessert and Simply Delish Jel Dessert.

Simply Delish Jel Dessert also offers mixes for vegetarian and vegan puddings.

If your recipe calls for unflavored gelatin your best bet is to grab a box of Lieber’s unflavored jel.

I even discovered a pre-made jello shot product for those over 21 to enjoy. These are individually packaged jello shots that include alcohol.

Can Vegetarians Eat Jello Pudding

Vegetarians can eat Jello Pudding since it doesn’t contain ingredients that vegetarians avoid consuming.

On the other hand, I must note that some pre-made puddings contain hydrogenated oil which is a banned ingredient in the US and Europe although, it can still be found in some products within the United States.

Is Jello Vegan

Is Jello Suitable For Vegans

Classic Jello is not suitable for vegans since it contains animal by-products.

Vegans do not consume animal products and often don’t use products that may have harmed animals.

Why Can’t Vegans Have Jello

Jello contains gelatin with is made from dried and ground-up animal pieces like bones, cartilage, and ligaments.

Can You Get Jello Without Gelatin

It may be harder to find but, you can find jello that is not made with gelatin.

Is There Vegan Jello

There are vegan Jello brands on the market and can be found at many stores or online.

Which Jello Is Vegan

My go-to Jello brands include.

Does Walmart Sell Vegan Jello

You can find the following vegan jello brands at Walmart.

  • Gefen
  • Simply Delish Jel Dessert
  • Bakol Jel Dessert
  • Kool-Aid Gels
  • Snack Pack Juicy Gels

Can Vegans Eat Jello Pudding

Many of the premade Jello Pudding products contain dairy making them not suitable for vegans.

The boxed mixes on the other hand are vegan friendly, you can prepare them using your favorite non-dairy milk.

Is Snack Pack Juicy Gels Vegetarian Or Vegan

Snack Pack Juicy Gels are both vegetarian and vegan since they do not contain gelatin.

Is Knox Unflavored Jello Vegetarian Or Vegan

Knox unflavored gelatin is not vegetarian or vegan since it contains gelatin sourced from animals.

If you need an unflavored vegetarian or vegan gelatin product you can use Liebers Unflavored Jel.

Is Starburst Jello Vegetarian Or Vegan

Who doesn’t love the classic flavors of Starburst candy?

Starburst now makes a jello product that features their flavors unfortunately, Starburst Jello is not vegetarian or vegan since it contains gelatin derived from animals.

Are Kool-Aid Gels Vegetarian Or Vegan

Kool-Aid Gels are vegetarian and vegan friendly since they do not contain gelatin, they use locust bean gum as a replacement.

Are The Natural Flavors In Jello Vegan Or Vegetarian

I do have to note that flavoring or natural flavoring in foods may be a concern for some.

Some unnatural flavors can be sourced from some cringe-worthy animal sources.

It may sound crazy but, natural vanilla flavoring often comes from anal sac secretions from beavers.

Are The Food Colorings Found In Jello Vegan Or Vegetarian

You thought it was enough after I mentioned the “natural flavors” but, there is more to consider.

Many food colorings also come from questionable sources.

A red food coloring called carmine is actually from bugs.

Final Thoughts

You can here for some information on Jello and maybe walk away a bit grossed out and shocked by the reality of the ingredients found in some of our foods.

Don’t fret, I like to look at it from the glass is half full perceptive.

The more you know the better choices you can make for yourself and your family.

We avoid consuming gelatin but, have discovered that it snuck into many food items that we ate for years (like marshmallows and gummy candy).

As far as food coloring and natural flavors are concerned, I don’t purposely avoid those ingredients but, I do try to eat less processed foods or higher quality processed foods when I can.

It’s all a balance that we have to do. Eating “perfectly” is nearly impossible in life.

Just strive to do your best and choose what is most important to you.

It doesn’t matter what I do or what the person next door does.

Can Vegetarians Or Vegans Eat Rice Krispie Treats?