do rice krispies contain pork

Do Rice Krispies Have Pork In Them (Quick Facts)

It may sound like an urban myth but, there are some cereals that contain pork and other animal products, is Rice Krispies one of them. Does Rice Krispies contain pork?

Classic Rice Krispies currently do not contain pork or other animal products but, there have been recent flavors that contained animal-derived ingredients including pork. Be aware of cereals that contain marshmallows and frosting.

Do Rice Krispies Contain Pork

Rice Krispies cereal does not contain pork or any other animal products.

Blackberry Hoisin Pork, Zucchini an...
Blackberry Hoisin Pork, Zucchini and Black Bean Rice

At this time Kelloggs offers the following flavors of Rice Krispie cereal without pork or additional animal products.

  • Classic Rice Krispies
  • Cocoa Krispies
  • Frosted Krispies
  • Cinnamon Sugar Krispies
  • Rice Krispies with Red and Blue Krispies (limited time)

Why Would Rice Krispies Contain Pork

Although, it may seem like an odd ingredient to be in breakfast cereal, many kinds of cereal contain marshmallows or frosting.

Marshmallows and frosting can contain gelatin which is often derived from animals, specifically pork and beef animals.

Do Rice Krispies Have Gelatin In Them

Classic Rice Krispies do not contain gelatin or any other animal-derived ingredients.

Can Vegetarians Eat Gelatin (Explained)

Were There Any Rice Krispie Cereals That Contained Pork Or Gelatin

Rice Krispies used to offer a Rice Krispie Treats cereal that contained little bites of Rice Krispie Treats.

Rice Krispie Treats are made with marshmallows that contain gelatin derived from pork.

At this time this cereal flavor is discontinued but, in the future, if Kelloggs offers a Rice Krispie cereal that contains treats, marshmallows or frosting be sure to look closely at the ingredients for gelatin.

Are Rice Krispies Vegetarian

Classic Rice Krispies cereal is vegetarian in addition to the following specialty flavors.

  • Cocoa Krispies
  • Frosted Krispies
  • Cinnamon Sugar Krispies
  • Red, White, and Blue Krispies (limited time only)

Are Rice Krispies Vegan

Rice Krispies cereal is vegan friendly and does not contain any animal products.

All of the following flavors are vegan.

  • Cocoa Krispies
  • Frosted Krispies
  • Cinnamon Sugar Krispies
  • Red, White, and Blue Krispies (limited time only)
does rice krispies contain pork

Are Rice Krispies Halal

Rice Krispies cereal that does not contain any gelatin or animal products is currently halal.

All of the Rice Krispie Treats or products that contain gelatin or other animal products are not halal.

What Are Rice Krispies Made Of

In classic Rice Krispies Cereal, you will find the following ingredients.

  • Rice
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Malt Flour
  • Iron
  • Niacinamide
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B2
  • Vitamin B1
  • Folic Acid
  • Vitamin D3
  • Vitamin B12

In the specialty flavors, you may find the addition of the following ingredients.

Cocoa Krispies

  • Cocoa
  • Maltodextrin
  • Palm Kernel Oil
  • Natural Flavors
  • Artifical Flavors
  • Red 40
  • Yellow 6
  • Blue 1
  • BHT
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Vitamin C
  • Reduced Iron
  • Vitamin A
  • Zinc Oxide
  • Vitamin E Acetate

Frosted Krispies Cereal

Contains the same ingredients as the classic Rice Krispies but, they contain more sugar.

Cinnamon Sugar Rice Krispies

  • Cinnamon

Are Rice Krispies Organic

Rice Krispies are not organic, if you prefer an organic Rice Krispie cereal there are alternative brands that are organic.

Do Rice Krispies Contain GMOs

Unfortunately, Rice Krispies cereal contains ingredients like genetically modified GMO sugar.

In order to enjoy a none GMO crisp rice cereal like Rice Krispies, you will need to look for an organic or non-GMO cereal.

Some options are listed above.

Make sure to look for the non-gmo or organic seal on the packaging.

Final Thoughts

Classic Rice Krispie cereal does not currently contain pork, beef, gelatin, or any other animal-derived ingredients at this time.

You do need to be aware that in the past Kellogs offered a Rice Krispie Treat cereal that contain little pieces of Rice Krispie Treats.

This cereal did contain pork in the form of pork gelatin within the marshmallows.

The majority of Rice Krispie Treats and any cereal that contains marshmallows or frosting contain animal-derived gelatin often from pork or beef.

Be careful to look closely at the labels.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Can Vegetarians Eat Gelatin (Explained)