Are KFC Fries Vegetarian

Are KFC Fries Vegetarian (Quick Facts)

French Fries are the most popular fast food side dish but, are KFC French Fries vegetarian?

The french fries at KFC are technically vegetarian-friendly but, there are some concerns. KFC French Fries contain numerous questionable ingredients in addition to being prepared in an environment where cross-contamination is very likely.

Can Vegetarians Eat The French Fries At KFC

Vegetarians can eat french fries at KFC but, there are some things to consider before you take a bite.

Why Wouldn’t The Fries At KFC Be Vegetarian

You may automatically assume that french fries are vegetarian but, that is not always true.

It is much less common for restaurants to use lard as a frying oil as they used to in the past but, sometimes animal-based ingredients can sneak into a food.

A perfect example is the french fries at McDonald’s, many people are not aware that these fries contain beef fat making them not vegetarian-friendly.

What Ingredients Are In The Fries At KFC

You will find the following ingredient in the “Secret Recipe Fries” at KFC.

Sea Salt, Monosodium Glutamate, Maltodextrin, Salt, Dextrose, Vegetable Powders (Onion, Carrot, Tomato), Tricalcium Phosphate, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Spices, Soybean Oil, Natural Flavors, Potassium Chloride, Paprika Extract (color), Turmeric Extract (color). Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (Soybean, Canola, Cottonseed, And/Or Sunflower), Bleached Wheat Flour, Contains 2% Or Less Of: Rice Flour, Durum Wheat Semolina, Dextrin, Salt, Degermed Yellow Corn Meal, Cornstarch, Leavening ( Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Dextrose, Xanthan Gum, Annatto Extract Color, Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate (To Maintain Natural Color).

Questionable Ingredients in KFC French Fries

Although, the french fries at KFC are technically vegetarian there are some questionable ingredients.

  • Natural Flavors
  • Monosodium glutamate (MSG)
Are KFC Fries Vegetarian

What Oil Are The Fries At KFC Cooked In

KFC has changed and tested different frying oils throughout the years.

Currently, KFC uses canola oil and hydrogenated soybean oil.

Are The Fries At KFC Cooked In The Same Oil As The Chicken

There is a chance that the french fries at KFC are cooked in the same oil that is used for the chicken.

If cross-contamination is a concern for you, I would avoid eating the french fries at KFC.

Vegetarian Side Dishes At KFC

In addition to the french fries at KFC, the following side dishes are also vegetarian.

  • Biscuits
  • Cornbread Muffin
  • Cole Slaw
  • Whole Kernel Corn
  • Corn On The Cob
  • Green Beans
  • Baked Beans
  • Macaroni Salad
  • Potato Salad
  • House Side Salad

These dishes may not be available at every location.

Final Thoughts

French Fries are a staple at most fast food restaurants, with KFC not being an exception.

Luckily, for many the french fries at KFC are vegetarian but, there are some concerns.

Besides some questionable ingredients, the french fries are most likely fried in the same oil that is used for the chicken making cross-contamination a concern.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Is KFC Gravy Vegetarian