Is KFC Gravy Vegan

Is KFC Gravy Vegan (Quick Facts)

KFC is famous for its fried chicken and mashed potatoes with gravy but, is the gravy at KFC vegan?

Unfortunately, the gravy at KFC is not vegan-friendly due to containing a variety of animal-sourced ingredients including chicken fat, dehydrated cooked chicken, and gelatin. In addition to the obvious non-vegan ingredients, the gravy at KFC includes some ingredients that are questionable.

Can Vegans Eat KFC Gravy

The gravy at KFC is not vegan due to containing many ingredients that are not vegan-friendly.

Why Isn’t The Gravy At KFC Vegan

Unfortunately, the gravy at KFC contains numerous non-vegan ingredients.

  • Chicken Fat
  • Dehydrated Cooked Chicken
  • Gelatin
  • Natural Flavorings
  • Artifical Flavorings

Why Aren’t Natural And Artifical Flavorings Vegan

Natural and artificial flavorings can sometimes be sourced from animals, or animal by-products or are not cruelty-free.

What Ingredients Are In The Gravy At KFC

You will find the following ingredients in the famous gravy at KFC.

Enriched with Wheat Flour (Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid),
Food Starch-Modified, Maltodextrin, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Salt, Chicken Fat, Monosodium
Glutamate, Dextrose, Mono and Diglycerides, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Natural and Artificial Flavor (with
Hydrolized Corn Protein, Hydrolyzed Corn Soy, Wheat Gluten Protein, Monosodium Glutamate, Autolyzed
Yeast Extract, Gelatin, Hydrolyzed Torula and Brewers Yeast Protein, Lactose), Caramel Color (with Sodium
Bisulfate), Onion Powder, Dehydrated Cooked Chicken, Spice, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate,
with not More Than 2% Silicon Dioxide added as an Anti-caking)

Is KFC Gravy Vegan

Has KFC Changed Their Gravy Recipe

KFC has changed its gravy recipe throughout the years.

In addition to the changes in the recipe for KFC Gravy, at times more than one recipe may be used.

One of the alternate recipes for the gravy at KFC includes the following ingredients.

Wheat Flour, Modifies Corn Starch, Monosodium Glutamate, Salt, Dextrose, Partially Hydrogenated
Soybean Oil, Onion Powder, Spice, Caramel Color, Torula Yeast, Hydrolized Soy Protein, Turmeric,
Autolyzed Yeast, Oleoresin Paprika, Natural Flavoring, and BHT (as a Preservative).
Contains Wheat and Soy.

While this recipe is technically vegan, the natural flavorings are a questionable ingredient.

As a customer, there is also no way to guarantee that this recipe is the one that was used to make your gravy.

Vegan Side Dishes At KFC

Even though the gravy is not vegan at KFC there are a few vegan side dishes to choose from.

  • Corn (without butter)
  • Green Beans
  • Baked Beans
  • House Salad (no croutons, choose a vegan dressing)
  • Apple Sauce

Final Thoughts

Entering a fast food restaurant that specializes in fried chicken as a vegan can be challenging.

Unfortunately, at KFC the vegan options are limited and the famous mashed potatoes and gravy contain a variety of non-vegan ingredients making them not vegan.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

What Are The Best Vegetarian Options At KFC