Mashed Potatoes and Gravy are a classic comfort food side dish and extremely popular at KFC but, is the gravy at KFC vegetarian?
The famous gravy at KFC is not vegetarian due to containing various chicken base ingredients like chicken fat and dehydrated cooked chicken. In addition to chicken products, the gravy at KFC contains a variety of questionable ingredients.
Table of Contents
Can Vegetarians Eat The Gravy At KFC
Unfortunately, the gravy at KFC is not vegetarian-friendly and should not be eaten by those that avoid animal products.
Why Isn’t The Gravy At KFC Vegetarian
The famous gravy at KFC is not vegetarian because it contains chicken fat and dehydrated cooked chicken.
What Ingredients Are In The Gravy At KFC
The gravy at KFC contains the following ingredients.
Enriched with Wheat Flour (Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid),
Food Starch-Modified, Maltodextrin, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Salt, Chicken Fat, Monosodium
Glutamate, Dextrose, Mono and Diglycerides, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Natural and Artificial Flavor (with
Hydrolized Corn Protein, Hydrolyzed Corn Soy, Wheat Gluten Protein, Monosodium Glutamate, Autolyzed
Yeast Extract, Gelatin, Hydrolyzed Torula and Brewers Yeast Protein, Lactose), Caramel Color (with Sodium
Bisulfate), Onion Powder, Dehydrated Cooked Chicken, Spice, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate,
with not More Than 2% Silicon Dioxide added as an Anti-caking)
Does KFC Have More Than One Gravy Recipe
This seems odd, that KFC may have more than one gravy recipe.
While doing research for this article I discovered that there is more than one recipe for the gravy at KFC.
The second recipe for gravy at KFC contains the following ingredients.
Wheat Flour, Modifies Corn Starch, Monosodium Glutamate, Salt, Dextrose, Partially Hydrogenated
Soybean Oil, Onion Powder, Spice, Caramel Color, Torula Yeast, Hydrolized Soy Protein, Turmeric,
Autolyzed Yeast, Oleoresin Paprika, Natural Flavoring, and BHT (as a Preservative).
Contains Wheat and Soy.
While this recipe is vegetarian there is no way to ensure that it is the one being used.
Vegetarian Side Dishes At KFC
If you are looking for a vegetarian side dish at KFC and are disappointed that the gravy is vegetarian-friendly, you do have some options.
The following side dishes at KFC are vegetarian.
- French Fries
- Cornbread Muffin
- Cole Slaw
- Whole Kernel Corn
- Corn On The Cob
- Green Beans
- Baked Beans
- Macaroni Salad
- Potato Salad
- House Side Salad
These dishes may not be available at all locations.
Unfortunately, the famous gravy at KFC is not vegetarian due to containing various chicken-based ingredients including chicken fat and dehydrated cooked chicken.