Are Gardetto's Vegan

Are Gardetto’s Vegan (Quick Facts)

Gardetto’s are a popular snack mix that is available in many different flavors but, is Gardetto’s vegan?

Some of the Gardetto’s flavors like the popular Original and Rye Chips are vegan-friendly whereas others like the Pizzeria flavor and Gardetto’s Italian Cheese Blend contain various animal-based ingredients that make them not suitable for vegans to enjoy.

Can Vegans Eat Gardetto’s

Some of Gardetto’s Chips are free of animal-sourced ingredients making them safe for vegans to enjoy whereas others are not.

The following Gardetto’s flavors are vegan-friendly.

  • Gardetto’s Original
  • Gardetto’s Rye Chips
  • Gardetto’s Reduced-Fat Chips
  • Gardetto’s Deli Style Mustard

Why Wouldn’t Gardetto’s Be Vegan

Gardetto’s offers a variety of snack chips in delicious flavors unfortunately some of those flavors include animal-sourced ingredients that are not vegan.

You may find the following non-vegan ingredients in Gardetto’s Chips.

  • Buttermilk
  • Non-Fat Milk
  • Cheese
  • Butter
  • Milk Powder
  • Dry Cheese

Do Gardetto’s Contain Dairy

Some of the Gardetto’s flavors do contain dairy products like cheese and milk.

You will find dairy products in the following Gardettos flavors.

  • Gardetto’s Pizzeria
  • Gardetto’s Italian Cheese Blend
  • Gardetto’s Chipotle Cheddar
  • Gardetto’s Spicy Italian

Do Gardetto’s Contain Eggs

None of Gardetto’s snacks contain eggs.

Do Gardetto’s Contain Lard

Gardetto’s snacks do not contain lard.

What Ingredients Are In Gardetto’s

Every flavor of Gardetto’s snacks will contain different ingredients unique to that flavor.

You will find the following ingredients in the Orginal Flavor Gardetto’s.

Enriched Flour (wheat flour, niacin, iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), Vegetable Oil (soybean, high oleic soybean, canola, and/or high oleic canola oil), Rye Flour, Salt. Contains 2% or less of: Yeast, Sugar, Monosodium Glutamate, Corn Syrup, Maltodextrin, Dried Worchestershire Sauce (vinegar, molasses, corn syrup, salt, caramel color, garlic powder, sugar, spice, tamarind, natural flavor), Baking Soda, Barley Malt Extract, Caramel Color, Onion Powder, Garlic Powder, Fumaric Acid, Spice, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate, Sodium Diacetate. Freshness Preserved by BHT

Does The Worchestershire Sauce in Gardetto’s Contain Anchovies

There is a big debate over whether the Worcestershire sauce used in Gardetto’s contains anchovies which would make the product not suitable for vegans.

The label clearly lists the ingredients included in the Worcestershire sauce and does not include anchovies.

The ingredients do include “natural flavor” which is an umbrella term for many different ingredients making it challenging to determine exactly what has been added to the product.

Are Gardetto’s Original Flavor Vegan

Gardetto’s Orginal Flavor is vegan-friendly.

Are Gardetto’s Garlic Rye Chips Vegan

Gardetto’s Garlic Rye Chips are vegan-friendly.

Are Gardetto’s Reduced Fat Chips Vegan

Gardetto’s Reduced Fat Chips are vegan.

Are Gardetto’s Pizzeria Chips Vegan

Gardetto’s Pizzeria Chips are not vegan since they contain cheese and buttermilk.

Are Gardetto’s Deli Style Mustard Chips Vegan

Gardetto’s Deli Style Mustard Chips are vegan-friendly.

Are Gardetto's Vegan

Are Gardetto’s Italian Cheese Blend Chips Vegan

Fardetto’s Italian Cheese Blend Chips are not vegan since they contain cheese, butter, buttermilk, non-fat milk, and milk powder.

Are Gardetto’s Chipotle Cheddar Chips Vegan

Gardetto’s Chipotle Cheddar Chips are not vegan since they contain buttermilk, cheese, and dry cheese.

Are Gardetto’s Spicy Italian Snack Mix Vegan

Gardetto’s Spicy Italian Snack Mix is not vegan since it contains cheese.

Final Thoughts

There is a Gardetto’s flavor that appeals to everybody from the classic original to a bag of dark and crisp rye chips.

Luckily, many of Gardetto’s Snack Chips are vegan-friendly.

You do need to be aware that there are also many flavors that contain dairy products like the Pizzeria flavor that are not vegan.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Are Toasted Crackers Vegan