Is Maple Syrup Vegan

Is Maple Syrup Vegan Or Vegetarian (Quick Facts)

Maple Syrup is a magical gift from the maple tree but, is maple syrup always vegan and vegetarian?

Maple Syrup is often vegan and vegetarian but, that is not always true. It is surprising to discover that the processing of sap into pure maple gold can require the use of animal-based products. The majority of maple syrup producers no longer use animal-based ingredients but, some are still questionable.

Is Maple Syrup Vegan

Maple Syrup is not always vegan which may come as a surprise since it comes from trees.

Vegetarian and Vegan Options At Pop...
Vegetarian and Vegan Options At Popeyes

Unfortunately, some syrup producers will use animal-based ingredients in the syrup during the production process.

Is Maple Syrup Vegetarian

Maple Syrup is often vegetarian but, can sometimes contain animal products that most vegetarians avoid.

To ensure that your maple syrup is vegetarian make sure it’s organic, kosher, or labeled as vegan.

Is Maple Syrup Plant-Based

Maple Syrup is plant-based food.

The majority of people that follow a plant-based diet try to eat an abundance of plant-based foods like fruit, vegetables, legumes, and grains.

Although maple syrup is plant-based it should be consumed in moderation because it is a high-sugar food, even being natural sugar.

Why Wouldn’t Maple Syrup Be Vegan Or Vegetarian

Often what starts off as a vegan or vegetarian product ends up containing animal products by the time it has made it to your table.

Unfortunately, Maple Syrup is one of the foods.

Tapping trees and waiting for their treasure within and boiling it down into a magical syrup has been done for centuries.

Unfortunately during the production process, additional ingredients may be used to aid in creating the perfect final product.

Traditionally, animal fats or dairy were used during the production of maple syrup and may still be used by some companies.

What Non-Vegan Ingredients Are In Maple Syrup

You may find various non-vegan or vegetarian ingredients in your Maple Syrup including.

  • Lard/Animal Fat
  • Butter
  • Cream
  • Honey

Why Is Lard Used To Make Maple Syrup

Lard can sometimes be used during the boiling of the sap into syrup in order to reduce the amount of foam being produced.

Is Lard Always Used To Make Maple Syrup

Lard used to be used more often than it is today.

You may have some generational Maple Syrup producers that still use animal products to create their syrup but, the majority do not.

The most often used defoamer is vegan and vegetarian-friendly vegetable oil.

Why Are Defoamers Needed To Make Maple Syrup

The sap from maple trees is boiled for an extended amount of time to evaporate the liquid and make syrup.

During this process, foam can be produced and slow the entire process of making syrup.

Fat is often used as a defoamer.

Are Synthetic Defoamers Vegans

Some Maple Syrup producers use synthetic defoamers when making their syrup.

Unfortunately, there is no way to know if a synthetic defoamer is vegan or not.

Some synthetic defoamers can contain animal-based products.

What Is A Synthetic Defoamer

Synthetic defoamers are made from a variety of synthetic oils in a laboratory, often the oils are petroleum based.

Is Maple Syrup Vegetarian

Why Is Honey Used In Maple Syrup

Some maple syrup brands will sometimes add honey into their syrup as a flavoring.

Once the honey has been added the maple syrup is no longer vegan.

Many vegetarians may still choose to consume honey and maple syrups that contain honey.

What Are Some Indicators That Maple Syrup May Not Be Vegan

There are some things to look for that may indicate that maple syrup contains non-vegan ingredients.

Look closely at the ingredient label, if you notice any of the following you may not have pure maple syrup.

  • Natural Flavors
  • Artifical Flavors
  • Sweet Cream
  • Honey Flavor
  • Caramel Flavor
  • Maple Flavored
  • More than one ingredient listed
  • Not labeled as vegan
  • Not labeled as organic

How Can I Be Sure My Maple Syrup Is Vegan

The best way to make sure that your maple syrup is vegan is to look for the vegan label on the packaging.

  • Kosher
  • Certified Organic
  • Vegan

Vegan Maple Syrup Brands

Final Thoughts

Maple Syrup production is close to my heart, coming from Maine where maple syrup is a tradition.

I’ve made it in my own kitchen from a tree I tapped in my front yard and my brother produces it and sells it on a much larger scale.

When the snow starts to melt in the spring it’s maple season.

Unfortunately, you do need to be aware that maple syrup won’t always be vegan or vegetarian but, if you are purchasing high quilty syrup labeled as vegan, organic, or kosher you are safe to enjoy.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!