Is Puff Pastry Vegan

Vegan Puff Pastry Brands (12 Options)

Puff Pastry is a difficult item to make from scratch with the majority of us looking for premade options to use in our treats, appetizers, and meals.

Traditional homemade puff pastry is not vegan-friendly but, is pre-made puff pastry vegan?

Many of the pre-made puff pastry products sold in stores are vegan friendly due to many manufacturers replacing the traditional dairy products with lesser expensive ingredients that also have a longer shelf life. Although, you can easily find vegan puff pastry often the ingredients are still questionable.

Is Puff Pastry Suitable For Vegans

How to Make Vegan Challah x
How to Make Vegan Challah

Traditionally made puff pastry is made with butter, flour, and salt making it not a vegan-friendly food.

Many commercially made puff pastry brands do not use butter replacing it with

Is Gluten-Free Puff Pastry Vegan

Gluten-free puff pastry is not necessarily vegan as well since it could contain dairy products.

Vegan Puff Pastry Brands

  • Pepperidge Farm
  • Pillsbury
  • Wewalka
  • Orgran
  • Schar
  • Aussie Bakery
  • Pampas Puff Pastry
  • Jus-Rol Puff Pastry
  • Favorite Day (Target)
  • Cole’s
  • Pennant
  • Lidl

Is Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry Vegan

Pepperidge Farm puff pastry is vegan since it does not contain any dairy products.

Pepperidge Farm puff pastry is a good option for many people since it is widely available at many local grocery stores.

If you look closely at the current ingredients there are some to reconsider.

MADE FROM: UNBLEACHED ENRICHED WHEAT FLOUR (FLOUR, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMINE MONONITRATE [VITAMIN B1], RIBOFLAVIN [VITAMIN B2], FOLIC ACID), WATER, VEGETABLE OILS (PALM, SOYBEAN, HYDROGENATED COTTONSEED), CONTAINS 2 PERCENT OR LESS OF: HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, SALT, MONO AND DIGLYCERIDES, SOY LECITHIN, MALTED BARLEY FLOUR, TURMERIC AND ANNATTO EXTRACTS FOR COLOR.

Concerning Ingredients In Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry

The most concerning ingredients in Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry are the hydrogenated oil that has been banned from use since 2018 but, still shows up in many products.

Hydrogenated oil was banned due to health concerns.

The other concerning ingredients are soybean oil and corn syrup.

Both of these products are genetically modified and are heavily sprayed with pesticides.

Palm oil is also a concern for some vegans since it is created under unethical conditions.

Is Pillsbury Puff Pastry Vegan

Pillsbury Puff Pastry is vegan since it does not contain dairy products.

Pillsbury is another widely available name brand that can be found in many grocery stores.

Let’s look closely at the ingredients in Pillsbury Puff Pastry.

ENRICHED FLOUR (WHEAT FLOUR, MALTED BARLEY FLOUR, NIACIN, IRON, THIAMIN MONONITRATE, RIBOFLAVIN, FOLIC ACID), PALM AND SOYBEAN OIL, WATER, SALT, MONOCALCIUM PHOSPHATE.

Concerning Ingredients In Pillsbury Puff Pastry

Although the Pillsbury Puff Pastry has fewer concerning ingredients when compared to its biggest competitor Pepperidge Farm, we still find palm and soybean oil.

Palm oil is a concern for some vegans due to unethical practices used in production.

Soybean oil is Genetically Modified and is heavily sprayed with pesticides.

Is Wewalka Puff Pastry Vegan

Wewalka Puff Pastry is vegan-friendly since it does not contain dairy products.

Unlike many of the other puff pastry brands, Wewalka Puff Pastry is found in the refrigerated section of the grocery store.

Let’s look at the ingredients in Wewalka Puff Pastry.

WHEAT FLOUR, WATER, PALM AND CANOLA OIL, ETHYL ALCOHOL, WHEAT STARCH, WHEAT GLUTEN, SUGAR, SALT, CITRIC ACID, SORBIC ACID, AND ASCORBIC ACID.

Concerning Ingredients Found In Wewalka Puff Pastry

Just like our other puff pastry brands, the oils are the biggest concern.

Wewalka Puff Pastry contains palm and canola oil.

Vegan Puff Pastry Brands

Is Orgran Puff Pastry Vegan

Orgran offers a different type of vegan Puff Pastry product, with a boxed pastry mix that still requires preparation.

Let’s take a look inside the ingredients found in Orgran Pastry Mix.

Maize starch, Rice flour, Tapioca flour, Potato starch, Rice bran, Salt, Yellow pea flour, Vegetable gums; methylcellulose, Carboxymethycellulose,Guar gum, Raising agent; Calcium carbonate,Emulsifier; Monoglycerides from vegetable.

Orgran Pastry Mix can be hard to find which makes it not an ideal option for vegans looking for puff pastry.

Is Schar Puff Pastry Vegan

Schar Puff Pastry is vegan since it doesn’t contain any dairy products.

It can be harder to locate Schar Puff Pastry in comparison to some of the other larger brands.

Ingredients found in Schar Puff Pastry.

water, margarine (palm oil, water, sunflower seeds oil, citric acid, sodium citrate, salt), non-gmo corn starch, rice starch, rice flour, chicory inulin, dextrose, modified cellulose, non-gmo soy protein, sunflower oil, guar gum, iodized salt ( salt, potassium iodide), potato flakes, psyllium seed husk (vegetable fiber),  rapeseed oil, ammonium bicarbonate, natural flavor.

The only questionable ingredient for vegans found in Schar Puff Pastry is the use of palm oil.

Is Aussie Bakery Puff Pastry Vegan

The Puff Pastry made by Aussie Bakery is vegan-friendly.

You can find Aussie Bakery Puff Pastry at many stores including Whole Foods.

Ingredients in Aussie Bakery Puff Pastry.

UNBLEACHED WHEAT FLOUR, VITAMIN C, PALM OIL, SALT, SUGAR, CORNSTARCH

The only questionable ingredient in Aussie Bakery Puff Pastry is palm oil.

Is Pampas Puff Pastry Vegan

Pampas Puff Pastry is vegan since it does not contain dairy products.

Ingredients in Pampas Puff Pastry.

Wheat flour, water, margarine [vegetable oils, water, salt, emulsifiers (471, 322 from soy), antioxidant (307b), and natural color (160a)], salt, food acid (330). 

It is unclear what type of vegetable oils are used in Pampas Puff Pastry.

Since Pampas Puff Pastry is an Australian Company it can be hard to locate.

Is Jus-Rol Puff Pastry Vegan

Jus-Rol is a vegan-friendly Puff Pastry.

Jus-Rol prides itself on being vegan friendly as well as the following.

  • Not containing high fructose corn syrup
  • Not containing Genetically Modified Ingredients
  • No hydrogenated oils
  • No bleached flours
  • No artificial flavors
  • No artificial colors
  • Made with sustainable palm oil

Let’s look at what ingredients are in Jus-Rol Puff Pastry.

WHEAT FLOUR, WATER, PALM OIL, CANOLA OIL, WHEAT STARCH. CONTAINS 2% OR LESS OF: SALT, ETHYL ALCOHOL, SUGAR, WHEAT GLUTEN, SORBIC ACID (PRESERVATIVE), CITRIC ACID, XANTHAN GUM, ASCORBIC ACID.

Is Target Favorite Day Puff Pastry Vegan

Favorite Day is a brand that is made exclusively for Target.

Favorite Day Puff Pastry is vegan-friendly since it does not contain dairy products or eggs.

What are the ingredients in Favorite Day Puff Pastry?

Wheat Flour, Margarine (Fractionated Palm Oil, Sunflower Seed Oil, Water, Monoglycerides, Diglycerides, Citric Acid), Water, Salt.

The only questionable ingredient in Favorite Day Puff Pastry would be the Fractionated Palm Oil.

Is Cole’s Puff Pastry Vegan

Cole’s Puff Pastry is vegan since it doesn’t contain dairy products.

Let’s look closer at the ingredients found in Cole’s Puff Pastry.

Wheat Flour, Water, Vegetable Margarine [Palm Oil, Water, Salt, Emulsifiers (471- Palm derived, 322- from Soy), Acidity Regulator (330), Antioxidant (307b), Natural Flavouring, Natural Colour (Carotene)], Salt.

Cole’s Puff Pastry contains two questionable ingredients with palm oil and soy being included.

Is Pennant Puff Pastry Vegan

Pennant Puff Pastry is vegan-friendly.

There are many ingredients included in a sheet of Pennant Puff Pastry, let’s take a look.

ENRICHED BLEACHED FLOUR (BLEACHED WHEAT FLOUR, MALTED BARLEY
FLOUR, NIACIN, IRON, THIAMINE MONONITRATE, RIBOFLAVIN, FOLIC ACID),
WATER, SOYBEAN OIL, HYDROGENATED PALM OIL, PALM OIL, CONTAINS 2%
OR LESS OF: SALT, WHEAT GLUTEN, DOUGH CONDITIONER (SODIUM
STEAROYL LACTYLATE, CALCIUM SULFATE, L-CYSTEINE HYDROCHLORIDE),
MONO- AND DIGLYCERIDES, MONOCALCIUM PHOSPHATE, COLORS ADDED
(ANNATTO, YELLOW #5, YELLOW #6, RED #40), ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR.

Questionable Ingredients In Pennant Puff Pastry

Unfortunately, there are many questionable ingredients found in Pennant Puff Pastry including Soybean Oil, Hydrogenated Palm Oil, Palm Oil, and Artificial Colorings.

Is Lidl Puff Pastry Vegan

Lidl Puff Pastry is vegan-friendly.

Let’s look at the ingredients found in Lidl Puff Pastry.

wheat flour, water, palm fat, alcohol, sugar, salt, acidity regulator: citric acid,

Are There Any Questionable Ingredients In Lidl Puff Pastry

The most concerning ingredient in Lidl Puff Pastry is Palm fat.

Best Vegan Puff Pastry

The best vegan puff pastry would be the Jus-Rol puff pastry with Pillsbury and Favorite Day as the runners-ups.

Final Thoughts

Puff Pastry has always been a challenge for me as an ingredient watcher.

Although, i personally do not follow a vegan diet I like to be aware of the ingredients in the products I feed to my family.

We completely avoid anything with hydrogenated oil which has made many premade pastry products like puff pastry and premade pie crusts unavailable.

I was glad to find a variety of vegan puff pastry options that included some will lesser ingredients compared to others.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Is Beeswax Vegetarian Or Vegan (Quick Facts)