is mozzarella vegan

Is Mozzarella Cheese Vegetarian (Quick Facts)

You can’t have a pizza without it, too many people mozzarella is the cheese of all cheeses with its mild flavor and gooey melty texture but, is mozzarella vegetarian?

Traditionally made mozzarella cheese is often not vegetarian since it contains animal products besides dairy. Luckily many commercially made mozzarella cheeses that we will find in our local grocery store or on top of a pizza will be vegetarian-friendly.

Can Vegetarians Eat Mozzarella Cheese

This isn’t an easy yes or no answer although we would like it to be.

Easy Garlic Cheese Biscuits x
Easy Garlic Cheese Biscuits

Unfortunately, we will need to closely look at the mozzarella packaging to determine if the particular mozzarella is vegetarian-friendly or not.

Vegetarians can eat mozzarella cheese as long as it only contains vegetarian-friendly ingredients.

Why Wouldn’t Mozzarella Cheese Be Vegetarian

Many vegetarians still consume dairy products including cheese so why would mozzarella cheese not be suitable for vegetarians.

Traditional mozzarella cheeses contain unethical animal ingredients that most vegetarians would avoid eating.

Does Mozzarella Cheese Contain Rennet

Some mozzarella cheeses can contain rennet.

What Is Rennet

Rennet is an enzyme that is found within a newborn calve’s fourth stomach lining.

Many calve’s are killed or harmed in the process of obtaining the rennet for cheese making.

Why Is Rennet Used To Make Cheese

Rennet is a coagulant that is used to convert the liquid dairy into the desired texture for the cheese being made.

Are Some Cheeses Made Without Rennet

There are plenty of cheeses that don’t require rennet at all like cream cheese, ricotta, swiss, and provolone.

As well as cheeses that don’t require rennet there are vegetarian rennet substitutes like vegetable rennet, microbial rennet, and genetically engineered rennet.

Is mozzarella vegetarian

What Animal Does Mozzarella Cheese Come From

Mozzarella is most often made from cow’s milk but, sometimes it can include buffalo or goat’s milk as well.

Vegetarian Mozzarella Cheese

  • Amul Mozzarella
  • BelDigosio
  • Biazzo
  • Boars Head
  • Burnett Dairy
  • Cabot
  • Dutch Farms
  • AlDI
  • Frigo
  • Galbani
  • Good & Gather
  • Grande
  • Great Lakes
  • Happy Farms
  • HEB
  • Horizon Organic
  • Joesph Farms
  • Kirkland
  • Landmark
  • Lynn Dairy
  • Migdal
  • Millers
  • Organic Valley
  • Pacific Cheese
  • Sargento
  • Stella
  • Tillamook
  • Trader Joe’s

Do Vegetarians And Vegans Eat Cream Cheese?

Is Mozzarella Cheese Vegan

Mozzarella Cheese is not vegan since it contains animal products.

Is Vegan Mozzarella Cheese Dairy Free

Vegan mozzarella cheese is a completely dairy-free product.

Vegan Mozzarella Cheeses

  • Daiya
  • So Delicous
  • Follow Your Heart
  • Traders Joes
  • Aldi
  • Parmela Creamery
  • Whole Foods 365
  • Violife
  • Good Planet
  • Field Roast Chao
  • Miykos

Can You Make Your Own Vegan Mozzarella

Although it may sound a bit crazy it is possible to make your own delicious vegan mozzarella at home.

Is Mozzarella Cheese Plant Based

Mozzarella cheese can be part of a plant-based diet.

Most people that have chosen to eat plant-based will eat mainly plant foods but, do also consume dairy, eggs, and meats.

A plant-based diet is based on eating less processed and unhealthy animal products.

Is Amul Mozzarella Cheese Vegetarian

Amul Mozzarella Cheese is vegetarian-friendly.

Final Thoughts

Many commercially made mozzarella cheeses are now made without using animal-derived rennet making them suitable for vegetarians to enjoy.

If you are a vegan or prefer to avoid eating dairy there are many melty vegan options as well.

A gooey and melty cheese product is a must to enjoy some of our favorite comfort foods like pizza, grilled cheese sandwiches, and classic mac n cheese.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Is Pecorino Cheese Vegetarian (Quick Facts)