do vegetarians eat scallops

Do Vegetarians Or Vegans Eat Scallops

Scallops are round little creatures that are part of the mollusk family with oysters and mussels. As a vegetarian or vegan can you eat scallops?

Vegans do not eat any living creature or any foods that are produced by harming animals making scallops off the menu. There are many different types of vegetarians with some still consuming seafood including scallops.

Do Vegetarians Eat Scallops

Some vegetarians eat scallops whereas others may not eat any seafood products.

Vegetarian food in Japan: Does Japa... x
Vegetarian food in Japan: Does Japan have any?

The majority of vegetarians do not eat seafood and would not eat a scallop.

Do Vegans Eat Scallops

Vegans do not consume scallops or any type of shellfish.

Why Can’t Vegans Eat Scallops

Scallops are considered living creatures and are most likely animals making them off-limits for all vegans.

Vegans omit eating any animal, animal by-product, or foods that are created with unfair treatments to any living creature.

When Would A Vegetarian Eat Scallops

A person that considers themselves Pescatarian, Flexitarian, Semi-Vegetarian, or Plant-Based would consume seafood including scallops.

While non of these vegetarian labels are not true vegetarians they are all very similar to vegetarians.

What Type Of Vegetarians Eat Scallops

Pescatarians

Someone who doesn’t eat red meat, or poultry may call themselves a Pescatarian.

Flexitarian

A Flexitarian is someone who still consumes all animal products but, eats mostly a vegetarian diet.

Semi-Vegetarian

A Semi-Vegetarian is the same as a Flexitarian, they eat all foods just more produce and less meat than a standard diet.

Plant-Based

Someone who follows a Plant-Based diet may limit their meat consumption or the variety of animal products they consume.

A plant-based diet is mainly plant products like fruit, vegetables, legumes, and grains.

do vegetarians eat scallops

Why Wouldn’t A Vegetarian Eat Scallops

The majority of vegetarians do not consume fish or seafood.

Types Of Vegetarians That Would Never Eat Scallops

It can get confusing with the different types of vegetarians but, the majority do not consume any seafood.

Lacto Vegetarian

Lacto Vegetarians do not eat any meat or seafood or eggs but, they do consume dairy products like milk, yogurt, and cheese.

Ovo Vegetarian

Ovo Vegetarians do not consume meat, seafood, or dairy product but, they do still eat eggs.

Lacto Ovo Vegetarian

Lacto Ovo Vegetarians are the most common type of vegetarians.

A Lacto Ovo Vegetarian doesn’t eat meat or seafood but, still consumes dairy products and eggs.

Are Scallops Animals

Scallops are part of the animal kingdom being a creature that is often referred to as a bivalve, which is a creature that lives in a hinged shell.

Some may argue that scallops lack a central nervous system or brains making them not susceptible to pain or the same rights as other creatures.

There is a fine line between living sea creatures that are considered animals and those that are not.

Scallops can sometimes find themselves in that conversation or animal or not?

I personally consider them as an animal.

Are Scallops Considered Meat

Depending on your viewpoint towards scallops as being an animal or not will determine if your think scallops are meat.

For many, we would consider scallops being the flesh of a living creature making it meat.

Final Thoughts

Scallops are different little creatures that can cause confusion for many.

They are shellfish and should be viewed as one.

If you are a vegetarian or vegan scallops would be off the menu.

Can Vegetarians Eat Seafood?