Do Cheetos Have Pork in Them

Do Cheetos Have Pork In Them (Quick Facts)

Cheetos are a very popular snack with cheesy flavors to flamin hot versions but do they have pork in them?

Do Cheetos Contain Pork

Although it may not be clearly noted on the products label many Cheetos brand products do contain pork products or other animal-derived ingredients.

How Can Cheetos Not List Pork As An Ingredient

Due to laws and regulations and terms that we may not understand clearly many animal ingredients can be listed under umbrella terms like flavorings, colorings, additives, and enzymes.

Why Would Cheetos Contain Pork

BBQ Pulled Pork Empanadas
BBQ Pulled Pork Empanadas

The majority of Cheetos flavors and products are base around the flavor of cheese often with some additions like hot spicy flavoring.

The cheese flavoring often includes rennet or other animal-derived enzymes.

What Is Rennet And Enzymes In Cheese Flavorings

Rennet or enzymes are often provided from the stomachs of cows and pigs.

It may sound crazy but, it’s true.

This ingredient has been used for years to help coagulate cheese during cheese making.

Cheeto Brand Products That Contain Animal Products

All of the Cheetos brand products contain some form of animal products in them in the form of cheese flavoring.

The cheese flavorings often include dairy products like cheese, milk, and buttermilk.

Cheetos Brands Products That Do Not Contain Pork Enzymes

Cheetos Brand snacks have clearly listed on their website their US-based products that do not contain pork enzymes.

  • CHEETOS® Baked Crunchy Cheese Flavored Snacks
  • CHEETOS® Cheddar Flavored Popcorn
  • CHEETOS® Cheddar Jalapeno Flavored Popcorn
  • CHEETOS® Crunch Pop Mix Cheese Popcorn and Snack Mix
  • CHEETOS® Crunchy Cheddar Jalapeño Flavored Snacks
  • CHEETOS® Crunchy Cheese Flavored Snacks
  • CHEETOS® Crunchy Flamin’ Hot® Cheese Flavored Snacks
  • CHEETOS® Crunchy Flamin’ Hot® Limón Cheese Flavored Snacks
  • CHEETOS® Crunchy XXTRA Flamin’ Hot® Cheese Flavored Snacks
  • CHEETOS® Flamin’ Hot® Flavored Popcorn
  • CHEETOS® Flavor Shots Flamin’ Hot Asteroids Flavored Corn Puffs
  • CHEETOS® Paws™ Cheese Flavored Snacks
  • CHEETOS® Puffs Cheese Flavored Snacks
  • CHEETOS® Puffs Flamin’ Hot® Cheese Flavored Snacks
  • CHEETOS® Reduced Fat Crunchy Cheese Flavored Snacks
  • CHEETOS® Reduced Fat Crunchy Flamin’ Hot Limon Cheese Flavored Snacks
  • CHEETOS® Reduced Fat Puffs Cheese Flavored Snacks
  • CHEETOS® Reduced Fat Puffs Flamin’ Hot® Cheese Flavored Snacks
  • CHEETOS® Simply Crunchy White Cheddar Cheese Flavored Snacks
  • CHEETOS® Simply Crunchy White Cheddar Jalapeno Cheese Flavored Snacks
  • CHEETOS® Simply Puffs White Cheddar Cheese Flavored Snacks
  • CHEETOS® White Cheddar Bites Cheese Flavored Snacks

Where Are The Enzyme In Cheetos Products From

Although, Cheetos brand indicates which products do not contain pork enzymes they do not clearly note where the enzymes are sourced from.

They may be from vegetables, microbial or other animals like cows.

Do Cheetos Have Pork in Them

Are Cheetos Vegetarian

Due to containing enzymes within the cheese flavoring that are not clearly noted where they are from, Cheetos snacks are not vegetarian-friendly food.

It’s ultimately up to you if you are ok with taking a chance on the enzyme source.

Do Vegetarians Eat Cheese?

Are Cheetos Vegan

Due to containing possible animal-derived enzymes, Cheetos snacks may also include non-vegan ingredients like milk and buttermilk making many Cheetos flavors and products not vegan.

Are Cheetos Halal

Cheetos are not considered Halal for more information on why visit Halal Wisdom.

What Are Cheetos Made Of

Classic crunchy Cheetos contain the following ingredients.

Enriched Corn Meal (Corn Meal, Ferrous Sulfate, Niacin, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Vegetable Oil (Corn, Canola, and/or Sunflower Oil), Cheese Seasoning (Whey, Cheddar Cheese [Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes], Canola Oil, Maltodextrin [Made from Corn], Natural and Artificial Flavors, Salt, Whey Protein Concentrate, Monosodium Glutamate, Lactic Acid, Citric Acid, Artificial Color [Yellow 6]), and Salt.

Do Cheetos Contain GMO Ingredients

Unfortunately, Cheetos contains a variety of GMO ingredients including Enriched Corn Meal, vegetable oil, and canola oil.

Are Cheetos Organic

Although, Cheetos offers a cleaner option under the “Simply” name that does not include artificial flavors they are still not organic and contain GMO corn.

Organic Cheeto Alternatives

Are There Any Vegan-Friendly Cheetos

Final Thoughts

Pork seems like a strange ingredient to be in Cheetos or a crunchy cheese snack but, unfortunately, many people are not aware of the ingredients that are used to make cheese and cheese flavorings.

Although many Cheetos brand products do not contain pork it is unclear exactly where the enzymes are from.

Vegans also have the inclusion of dairy products like whey, milk, and cheese which makes Cheetos off-limits.

Even those that consume dairy and meat also face the fact that Cheetos includes many GMO ingredients.

Luckily there are many other brands that make similar products that are Organic, GMO-free, and vegan.

Other Articles You May Enjoy!

Do Rice Krispies Have Pork In Them (Quick Facts)